LivingGLP1
parallel randomized trial

NCT01296412

A Phase III, Multicenter, Randomized, Open-label Clinical Trial Comparing the Efficacy and Safety of a Sitagliptin-Based Treatment Paradigm to a Liraglutide-Based Treatment Paradigm in Patients With Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus Who Have Inadequate Glycemic Control on Metformin Monotherapy

Design

Randomized
653
Start year
2011
Treatment
26 weeks, follow-up 26 weeks
Countries
multinational (111 sites)
Sponsor
Merck Sharp & Dohme (industry)
Eligibility
age 18 to 79; HbA1c 7.0 to 11.0 percent on metformin 1500 mg or more; eGFR 60 or more

Conduct and analysis

Blinding
open label
Sequence generation
computer
Allocation concealment
central
Outcome adjudication
not reported
Primary estimand
not stated
Analysis population
per protocol
Missing data
none

Arms

ArmTreatmentBackgroundRandomizedAnalyzedCompleted treatment
A1Sitagliptin
Oral strategy: sitagliptin 100 mg with glimepiride if needed
metformin; lifestyle: standard326269
A2Liraglutide flexible dose injection once daily
Injectable strategy: liraglutide 1.2 mg uptitrated to 1.8 mg if needed
metformin; lifestyle: standard327253

Baseline characteristics

As printed in the trial reports or registry, per arm or for the whole trial.
CharacteristicStatisticSitagliptin
A1
Liraglutide flexible dose injection once daily
A2
agemean (years)56.957.6
agesd (years)10.010.8
blackn920
blackpercent36
bmimean (kg/m2)32.632.7
bmisd (kg/m2)5.96.1
diabetes durationmean (years)7.68.2
diabetes durationmedian (years)6.06.0
diabetes durationsd (years)4.86.2
hba1cmean (percent)8.28.1
hba1csd (percent)1.10.9
other malen178180
other malepercent5555
other multiracialn2120
other multiracialpercent66
other race othern1514
other race otherpercent54
weightmean (kg)91.092.1
weightsd (kg)20.520.4
whiten281273
whitepercent8684

Analyses this trial contributes to

Results

41 adjudicated result lines, grouped by outcome. Open an outcome to see its values.
HbA1c change (6 lines; O01)
WeekArmStatisticEstimateSE or SD95% CIEvents / NDetail
26A1change-1.32 percent-1.42 to -1.23269not stated; per protocol; registry:outcomes
26A1change-1.3 percent-1.4 to -1.2269not stated; per protocol; R0026295:Table 2
26A1 vs A2md0.1 percent-0.1 to 0.2not stated; per protocol; R0026295:Table 2
26A1 vs A2md0.09 percent-0.05 to 0.23not stated; per protocol; registry:outcomes
26A2change-1.4 percent-1.5 to -1.3253not stated; per protocol; R0026295:Table 2
26A2change-1.42 percent-1.51 to -1.32253not stated; per protocol; registry:outcomes
Body weight change in kilograms (diabetes) (3 lines; O02)
WeekArmStatisticEstimateSE or SD95% CIEvents / NDetail
26A1change-0.4 kg-0.8 to -0.0285not stated; completers; R0026295:Table 4
26A1 vs A2md2.3 kg1.8 to 2.9not stated; completers; R0026295:Table 4
26A2change-2.8 kg-3.2 to -2.3262not stated; completers; R0026295:Table 4
HbA1c below 7 percent (3 lines; O03)
WeekArmStatisticEstimateSE or SD95% CIEvents / NDetail
26A1 vs A2rd-9.5-17.4 to -1.5not stated; per protocol; R0026295:Results
26A1responders62.8269not stated; per protocol; R0026295:Results
26A2responders72.3253not stated; per protocol; R0026295:Results
Level 2 or 3 hypoglycemia (participants) (4 lines; O04)
WeekArmStatisticEstimateSE or SD95% CIEvents / NDetail
A1events39 / 326not stated; safety; R0026295:Table 3
A1events1 / 326not stated; safety; R0026295:Results
A2events13 / 324not stated; safety; R0026295:Table 3
A2events1 / 324not stated; safety; R0026295:Results
Systolic blood pressure change (3 lines; O05)
WeekArmStatisticEstimateSE or SD95% CIEvents / NDetail
26A1change0.9 mmHg-0.5 to 2.2285not stated; completers; R0026295:Table 4
26A1 vs A2md2.8 mmHg0.8 to 4.8not stated; completers; R0026295:Table 4
26A2change-1.9 mmHg-3.3 to -0.5262not stated; completers; R0026295:Table 4
All cause mortality (2 lines; O20)
WeekArmStatisticEstimateSE or SD95% CIEvents / NDetail
A1events1 / 326not stated; safety; R0026295:Table 3
A2events0 / 324not stated; safety; R0026295:Table 3
Serious adverse events (2 lines; O25)
WeekArmStatisticEstimateSE or SD95% CIEvents / NDetail
A1events17 / 326not stated; safety; R0026295:Table 3
A2events12 / 324not stated; safety; R0026295:Table 3
Discontinuation due to adverse events (2 lines; O26)
WeekArmStatisticEstimateSE or SD95% CIEvents / NDetail
A1events8 / 326not stated; safety; R0026295:Table 3
A2events29 / 324not stated; safety; R0026295:Table 3
Nausea (2 lines; O27A)
WeekArmStatisticEstimateSE or SD95% CIEvents / NDetail
A1events10 / 326not stated; safety; R0026295:Table 3
A2events63 / 324not stated; safety; R0026295:Table 3
Vomiting (2 lines; O27B)
WeekArmStatisticEstimateSE or SD95% CIEvents / NDetail
A1events6 / 326not stated; safety; R0026295:Table 3
A2events21 / 324not stated; safety; R0026295:Table 3
Diarrhea (2 lines; O27C)
WeekArmStatisticEstimateSE or SD95% CIEvents / NDetail
A1events7 / 326not stated; safety; R0026295:Table 3
A2events35 / 324not stated; safety; R0026295:Table 3
Constipation (2 lines; O27D)
WeekArmStatisticEstimateSE or SD95% CIEvents / NDetail
A1events4 / 326not stated; safety; R0026295:Table 3
A2events6 / 324not stated; safety; R0026295:Table 3
Gallbladder and biliary disease (2 lines; O28)
WeekArmStatisticEstimateSE or SD95% CIEvents / NDetail
A1events1 / 326not stated; safety; cholecystitis infective; registry:adverse_events
A2events0 / 324not stated; safety; cholecystitis infective; registry:adverse_events
Any cancer (6 lines; O39)
WeekArmStatisticEstimateSE or SD95% CIEvents / NDetail
A1events0 / 326not stated; safety; breast cancer; registry:adverse_events
A1events0 / 326not stated; safety; prostate cancer; registry:adverse_events
A1events1 / 326not stated; safety; squamous cell carcinoma; registry:adverse_events
A2events1 / 324not stated; safety; breast cancer; registry:adverse_events
A2events1 / 324not stated; safety; prostate cancer; registry:adverse_events
A2events0 / 324not stated; safety; squamous cell carcinoma; registry:adverse_events