LivingGLP1
parallel randomized trial

NCT01617434

The Effect of Liraglutide Versus Placebo When Added to Basal Insulin Analogues With or Without Metformin in Subjects With Type 2 Diabetes

Design

Randomized
451
Start year
2012
Treatment
26 weeks, follow-up 27 weeks
Countries
Argentina, Canada, Finland, Germany, India, Mexico, Netherlands, Serbia, United States (76 sites)
Sponsor
Novo Nordisk (industry)
Eligibility
age 18 to 80; HbA1c 7.0 to 10.0 percent; BMI 20 to 45; basal insulin analogue 20 U or more with or without metformin

Conduct and analysis

Blinding
double blind
Sequence generation
other adequate
Allocation concealment
central
Outcome adjudication
yes
Primary estimand
not stated
Analysis population
full analysis
Missing data
MMRM

Arms

ArmTreatmentBackgroundRandomizedAnalyzedCompleted treatment
A1Liraglutide 1.8 mg subcutaneous once daily
Liraglutide 1.8 mg/day
basal insulin analogue (glargine or detemir) with or without metformin; lifestyle: not reported226215
A2Placebo
Placebo
basal insulin analogue (glargine or detemir) with or without metformin; insulin not above prestudy dose, reduced 20 percent if HbA1c 8.0 or less; lifestyle: not reported225217

Baseline characteristics

As printed in the trial reports or registry, per arm or for the whole trial.
CharacteristicStatisticLiraglutide 1.8 mg subcutaneous once daily
A1
Placebo
A2
agemean (years)59.357.5
agesd (years)9.211.1
bmimean (kg/m2)32.332.2
bmisd (kg/m2)5.65.7
diabetes durationmean (years)12.112.1
diabetes durationsd (years)7.16.8
femalen10589
femalepercent46.739.6
hba1cmean (percent)8.28.3
hba1csd (percent)0.80.9
insulin dosemean (U/kg/day)0.460.45
metformin usepercent92.093.3
weightmean (kg)90.291.9
weightsd (kg)20.019.3

Analyses this trial contributes to

Results

47 adjudicated result lines, grouped by outcome. Open an outcome to see its values.
HbA1c change (6 lines; O01)
WeekArmStatisticEstimateSE or SD95% CIEvents / NDetail
26A1change-1.3 percentnot stated; full analysis; R0026247:Results
26A1change-1.30 percent1.015215not stated; full analysis; registry:outcomes
26A1 vs A2md-1.2 percent-1.4 to -1.0not stated; full analysis; R0026247:Results
26A1 vs A2md-1.1 percent-1.3 to -1.0not stated; full analysis; R0026247:Results
26A2change-0.11 percent1.088217not stated; full analysis; registry:outcomes
26A2change-0.1 percentnot stated; full analysis; R0026247:Results
Body weight change in kilograms (diabetes) (5 lines; O02)
WeekArmStatisticEstimateSE or SD95% CIEvents / NDetail
26A1change-3.54 kg3.669215not stated; full analysis; registry:outcomes
26A1change-3.5 kgnot stated; full analysis; R0026247:Results
26A1 vs A2md-3.1 kg-3.9 to -2.4not stated; full analysis; R0026247:Results
26A2change-0.4 kgnot stated; full analysis; R0026247:Results
26A2change-0.42 kg3.909216not stated; full analysis; registry:outcomes
HbA1c below 7 percent (3 lines; O03)
WeekArmStatisticEstimateSE or SD95% CIEvents / NDetail
26A1 vs A2or8.915.45 to 14.59not stated; full analysis; R0026247:Table 2
26A1responders59.2225not stated; full analysis; R0026247:Table 2
26A2responders14.0225not stated; full analysis; R0026247:Table 2
Level 2 or 3 hypoglycemia (participants) (4 lines; O04)
WeekArmStatisticEstimateSE or SD95% CIEvents / NDetail
A1events0 / 225not stated; safety; R0026247:Results
A1events41 / 225not stated; safety; R0026247:Table 4
A2events28 / 225not stated; safety; R0026247:Table 4
A2events0 / 225not stated; safety; R0026247:Results
Level 2 or 3 hypoglycemia (episode rate) (3 lines; O04B)
WeekArmStatisticEstimateSE or SD95% CIEvents / NDetail
A1 vs A2rate ratio2.001.03 to 3.89not stated; safety; R0026247:Table 4
A1rate126not stated; safety; R0026247:Table 4
A2rate83not stated; safety; R0026247:Table 4
Systolic blood pressure change (3 lines; O05)
WeekArmStatisticEstimateSE or SD95% CIEvents / NDetail
26A1 vs A2md-5.02 mmHg-7.45 to -2.59not stated; full analysis; R0026247:Table 2
26A1change-5.78 mmHgnot stated; full analysis; R0026247:Table 2
26A2change-0.76 mmHgnot stated; full analysis; R0026247:Table 2
Health related quality of life total score (any instrument) (3 lines; O24C)
WeekArmStatisticEstimateSE or SD95% CIEvents / NDetail
26A1change0.49 pointsnot stated; full analysis; R0026247:Table 2
26A1 vs A2md0.37 points0.20 to 0.55not stated; full analysis; R0026247:Table 2
26A2change0.11 pointsnot stated; full analysis; R0026247:Table 2
Serious adverse events (2 lines; O25)
WeekArmStatisticEstimateSE or SD95% CIEvents / NDetail
A1events11 / 225not stated; safety; R0026247:Table 3
A2events7 / 225not stated; safety; R0026247:Table 3
Discontinuation due to adverse events (2 lines; O26)
WeekArmStatisticEstimateSE or SD95% CIEvents / NDetail
A1events12 / 225not stated; safety; R0026247:Results
A2events3 / 225not stated; safety; R0026247:Results
Nausea (2 lines; O27A)
WeekArmStatisticEstimateSE or SD95% CIEvents / NDetail
A1events50 / 225not stated; safety; R0026247:Table 3
A2events7 / 225not stated; safety; R0026247:Table 3
Vomiting (2 lines; O27B)
WeekArmStatisticEstimateSE or SD95% CIEvents / NDetail
A1events20 / 225not stated; safety; R0026247:Table 3
A2events2 / 225not stated; safety; R0026247:Table 3
Diarrhea (2 lines; O27C)
WeekArmStatisticEstimateSE or SD95% CIEvents / NDetail
A1events24 / 225not stated; safety; R0026247:Table 3
A2events11 / 225not stated; safety; R0026247:Table 3
Acute pancreatitis (2 lines; O29)
WeekArmStatisticEstimateSE or SD95% CIEvents / NDetail
A1events0 / 225not stated; safety; R0026247:Results
A2events0 / 225not stated; safety; R0026247:Results
Medullary thyroid carcinoma (2 lines; O32A)
WeekArmStatisticEstimateSE or SD95% CIEvents / NDetail
A1events0 / 225not stated; safety; R0026247:Results
A2events0 / 225not stated; safety; R0026247:Results
Intestinal obstruction or ileus (2 lines; O37B)
WeekArmStatisticEstimateSE or SD95% CIEvents / NDetail
A1events1 / 225while on treatment; safety; ileus; registry:adverse_events
A2events0 / 225while on treatment; safety; ileus; registry:adverse_events
Pancreatic cancer (2 lines; O38)
WeekArmStatisticEstimateSE or SD95% CIEvents / NDetail
A1events1 / 225not stated; safety; R0026247:Results
A2events0 / 225not stated; safety; R0026247:Results
Any cancer (2 lines; O39)
WeekArmStatisticEstimateSE or SD95% CIEvents / NDetail
A1events3 / 225not stated; safety; R0026247:Table 3
A2events2 / 225not stated; safety; R0026247:Table 3