Percent body weight change
Type 2 diabetes (adults); background therapy: one or more non insulin glucose lowering drugs
In plain language
Across 8 trials with 6,897 participants, 2 of 8 treatments had a clearly better result than placebo on percent body weight change, and for 6 the evidence could not tell them apart from placebo. The most favorable estimate was for tirzepatide injection: mean difference -10.49 percentage points (95% credible interval -14.05 to -6.28).
- Tirzepatide injection: better than placebo but not among the most effective (certainty pending).
- Semaglutide injection: better than placebo but not among the most effective (certainty pending).
- Semaglutide tablet: not convincingly different from placebo (certainty pending).
- Empagliflozin: not convincingly different from placebo (certainty pending).
- Standard care or no added treatment: not convincingly different from placebo (certainty pending).
- Liraglutide injection: not convincingly different from placebo (certainty pending).
- Sitagliptin: not convincingly different from placebo (certainty pending).
- Dulaglutide injection: not convincingly different from placebo (certainty pending).
Lower values favor the treatment. "Clearly" means the 95% credible interval excludes no difference. These are averages across trials; they do not say how any one person will respond. Not medical advice.
Network of trials
Effects compared with Placebo
| Treatment | Bayesian MD (95% CrI) | 95% prediction interval | Frequentist MD (95% CI) | Verdict | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tirzepatide injection TIRZ_SC | -10.49 (-14.05 to -6.28) | -15.69 to -4.47 | -10.55 (-11.79 to -9.30) | Better | pending |
| Semaglutide injection SEMA_SC | -5.27 (-8.90 to -1.54) | -10.83 to 0.37 | -5.29 (-6.04 to -4.54) | Better | pending |
| Semaglutide tablet SEMA_PO | -3.91 (-7.39 to 0.04) | -9.22 to 1.68 | -3.95 (-4.95 to -2.95) | Unclear | pending |
| Empagliflozin EMPAGLIFLOZIN | -3.61 (-8.79 to 1.97) | -9.83 to 3.01 | -3.66 (-4.90 to -2.42) | Unclear | pending |
| Standard care or no added treatment STANDARD_CARE | -3.38 (-8.67 to 2.05) | -10.23 to 3.45 | -3.38 (-4.88 to -1.88) | Unclear | pending |
| Liraglutide injection LIRA_SC | -2.23 (-5.98 to 1.99) | -7.27 to 3.24 | -2.26 (-3.10 to -1.42) | Unclear | pending |
| Sitagliptin SITAGLIPTIN | -2.05 (-6.49 to 2.70) | -7.68 to 4.26 | -2.15 (-3.25 to -1.05) | Unclear | pending |
| Dulaglutide injection DULA_SC | -1.41 (-6.54 to 4.28) | -7.71 to 5.72 | -1.47 (-2.95 to 0.00) | Unclear | pending |
Confidence in the results
| Comparison | Within study bias | Reporting bias | Indirectness | Imprecision | Heterogeneity | Incoherence | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dulaglutide injection versus Placebo | pending | some | pending | major | none | some | pending |
| Empagliflozin versus Placebo | pending | some | pending | some | some | some | pending |
| Liraglutide injection versus Placebo | pending | some | pending | some | some | some | pending |
| Semaglutide tablet versus Placebo | pending | some | pending | some | none | some | pending |
| Semaglutide injection versus Placebo | pending | some | pending | some | none | some | pending |
| Sitagliptin versus Placebo | pending | some | pending | major | none | some | pending |
| Standard care or no added treatment versus Placebo | pending | some | pending | some | some | some | pending |
| Tirzepatide injection versus Placebo | pending | some | pending | none | none | some | pending |
Every other comparison (28)
| Comparison | Within study bias | Reporting bias | Indirectness | Imprecision | Heterogeneity | Incoherence | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dulaglutide injection versus Empagliflozin | pending | some | pending | major | none | some | pending |
| Dulaglutide injection versus Liraglutide injection | pending | some | pending | major | none | some | pending |
| Empagliflozin versus Liraglutide injection | pending | some | pending | major | none | some | pending |
| Dulaglutide injection versus Semaglutide tablet | pending | some | pending | some | some | some | pending |
| Empagliflozin versus Semaglutide tablet | pending | some | pending | major | none | some | pending |
| Liraglutide injection versus Semaglutide tablet | pending | some | pending | some | some | some | pending |
| Dulaglutide injection versus Semaglutide injection | pending | some | pending | some | some | some | pending |
| Empagliflozin versus Semaglutide injection | pending | some | pending | major | none | some | pending |
| Liraglutide injection versus Semaglutide injection | pending | some | pending | some | some | some | pending |
| Semaglutide tablet versus Semaglutide injection | pending | some | pending | major | none | some | pending |
| Dulaglutide injection versus Sitagliptin | pending | some | pending | major | none | some | pending |
| Empagliflozin versus Sitagliptin | pending | some | pending | major | none | some | pending |
| Liraglutide injection versus Sitagliptin | pending | some | pending | major | none | some | pending |
| Semaglutide tablet versus Sitagliptin | pending | some | pending | some | some | some | pending |
| Semaglutide injection versus Sitagliptin | pending | some | pending | major | none | some | pending |
| Dulaglutide injection versus Standard care or no added treatment | pending | some | pending | major | none | some | pending |
| Empagliflozin versus Standard care or no added treatment | pending | some | pending | major | none | some | pending |
| Liraglutide injection versus Standard care or no added treatment | pending | some | pending | major | none | some | pending |
| Semaglutide tablet versus Standard care or no added treatment | pending | some | pending | major | none | some | pending |
| Semaglutide injection versus Standard care or no added treatment | pending | some | pending | some | some | some | pending |
| Sitagliptin versus Standard care or no added treatment | pending | some | pending | major | none | some | pending |
| Dulaglutide injection versus Tirzepatide injection | pending | some | pending | some | none | some | pending |
| Empagliflozin versus Tirzepatide injection | pending | some | pending | some | none | some | pending |
| Liraglutide injection versus Tirzepatide injection | pending | some | pending | none | some | some | pending |
| Semaglutide tablet versus Tirzepatide injection | pending | some | pending | some | none | some | pending |
| Semaglutide injection versus Tirzepatide injection | pending | some | pending | some | none | some | pending |
| Sitagliptin versus Tirzepatide injection | pending | some | pending | some | none | some | pending |
| Standard care or no added treatment versus Tirzepatide injection | pending | some | pending | some | none | some | pending |
Ranking
Rank probabilities
| Treatment | Rank 1 | Rank 2 | Rank 3 | Rank 4 | Rank 5 | Rank 6 | Rank 7 | Rank 8 | Rank 9 | Mean rank |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TIRZ_SC | 94% | 3% | 2% | 1% | 1.1 | |||||
| SEMA_SC | 2% | 69% | 12% | 7% | 4% | 3% | 2% | 1% | 2.6 | |
| SEMA_PO | 8% | 36% | 35% | 16% | 4% | 1% | 3.8 | |||
| EMPAGLIFLOZIN | 2% | 10% | 17% | 29% | 24% | 9% | 5% | 3% | 2% | 4.4 |
| STANDARD_CARE | 2% | 5% | 26% | 14% | 23% | 10% | 9% | 8% | 5% | 4.8 |
| LIRA_SC | 2% | 3% | 6% | 13% | 34% | 24% | 14% | 3% | 6.2 | |
| SITAGLIPTIN | 1% | 2% | 4% | 12% | 25% | 34% | 15% | 5% | 6.5 | |
| DULA_SC | 2% | 2% | 3% | 6% | 11% | 19% | 42% | 14% | 7.2 | |
| PLACEBO | 1% | 2% | 3% | 6% | 17% | 71% | 8.5 |
League table
| Row versus column | PLACEBO | TIRZ_SC | SEMA_SC | SEMA_PO | EMPAGLIFLOZIN | STANDARD_CARE | LIRA_SC | SITAGLIPTIN | DULA_SC |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PLACEBO | PLACEBO | 10.49 6.28 to 14.05 | 5.27 1.54 to 8.90 | 3.91 -0.04 to 7.39 | 3.61 -1.97 to 8.79 | 3.38 -2.05 to 8.67 | 2.23 -1.99 to 5.98 | 2.05 -2.70 to 6.49 | 1.41 -4.28 to 6.54 |
| TIRZ_SC | -10.49 -14.05 to -6.28 | TIRZ_SC | -5.21 -10.21 to 0.41 | -6.57 -11.80 to -1.08 | -6.86 -13.53 to -0.32 | -7.12 -13.43 to 0.18 | -8.26 -13.48 to -2.77 | -8.41 -14.34 to -2.37 | -9.05 -15.53 to -2.41 |
| SEMA_SC | -5.27 -8.90 to -1.54 | 5.21 -0.41 to 10.21 | SEMA_SC | -1.37 -6.95 to 3.87 | -1.67 -8.73 to 4.91 | -1.92 -5.92 to 2.31 | -3.04 -8.72 to 2.32 | -3.24 -9.59 to 2.63 | -3.87 -10.79 to 2.35 |
| SEMA_PO | -3.91 -7.39 to 0.04 | 6.57 1.08 to 11.80 | 1.37 -3.87 to 6.95 | SEMA_PO | -0.29 -4.23 to 3.59 | -0.52 -7.05 to 6.33 | -1.67 -5.64 to 2.44 | -1.84 -4.75 to 0.91 | -2.49 -6.43 to 1.33 |
| EMPAGLIFLOZIN | -3.61 -8.79 to 1.97 | 6.86 0.32 to 13.53 | 1.67 -4.91 to 8.73 | 0.29 -3.59 to 4.23 | EMPAGLIFLOZIN | -0.25 -8.02 to 7.63 | -1.37 -7.04 to 4.41 | -1.55 -6.36 to 3.34 | -2.21 -7.92 to 3.35 |
| STANDARD_CARE | -3.38 -8.67 to 2.05 | 7.12 -0.18 to 13.43 | 1.92 -2.31 to 5.92 | 0.52 -6.33 to 7.05 | 0.25 -7.63 to 8.02 | STANDARD_CARE | -1.14 -8.20 to 5.51 | -1.32 -8.79 to 5.79 | -1.96 -9.94 to 5.44 |
| LIRA_SC | -2.23 -5.98 to 1.99 | 8.26 2.77 to 13.48 | 3.04 -2.32 to 8.72 | 1.67 -2.44 to 5.64 | 1.37 -4.41 to 7.04 | 1.14 -5.51 to 8.20 | LIRA_SC | -0.18 -5.28 to 4.70 | -0.83 -6.62 to 4.49 |
| SITAGLIPTIN | -2.05 -6.49 to 2.70 | 8.41 2.37 to 14.34 | 3.24 -2.63 to 9.59 | 1.84 -0.91 to 4.75 | 1.55 -3.34 to 6.36 | 1.32 -5.79 to 8.79 | 0.18 -4.70 to 5.28 | SITAGLIPTIN | -0.64 -5.43 to 4.22 |
| DULA_SC | -1.41 -6.54 to 4.28 | 9.05 2.41 to 15.53 | 3.87 -2.35 to 10.79 | 2.49 -1.33 to 6.43 | 2.21 -3.35 to 7.92 | 1.96 -5.44 to 9.94 | 0.83 -4.49 to 6.62 | 0.64 -4.22 to 5.43 | DULA_SC |
Heterogeneity, fit and convergence
Bayesian random effects (primary)
Frequentist check (netmeta)
Inconsistency
No comparison here has both direct and indirect evidence, so inconsistency cannot be checked by node splitting; the between designs Q above is the global check.
| Design | Q | df | P |
|---|---|---|---|
| SEMA_PO:SITAGLIPTIN | 0.20 | 1 | 0.656 |
Small study effects
Contribution of direct evidence
Percent contribution of each direct comparison (columns) to each network estimate (rows), from netcontrib.
| Network estimate | DULA_SC:SEMA_PO | EMPAGLIFLOZIN:SEMA_PO | LIRA_SC:PLACEBO:SEMA_PO | PLACEBO:SEMA_SC | PLACEBO:TIRZ_SC | SEMA_PO:SITAGLIPTIN | SEMA_SC:STANDARD_CARE |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DULA_SC:PLACEBO | 42 | 58 | |||||
| EMPAGLIFLOZIN:PLACEBO | 42 | 58 | |||||
| LIRA_SC:PLACEBO | 100 | ||||||
| PLACEBO:SEMA_PO | 100 | ||||||
| PLACEBO:SEMA_SC | 100 | ||||||
| PLACEBO:SITAGLIPTIN | 58 | 42 | |||||
| PLACEBO:STANDARD_CARE | 50 | 50 | |||||
| PLACEBO:TIRZ_SC | 100 |
Baseline characteristics of the trials
| Trial | Baseline BMI or body weight (kg/m2) effect modifier, prognostic factor; 6 of 8 | Sex (percent female) effect modifier, prognostic factor; 8 of 8 | Asian ancestry or region (percent Asian) effect modifier, prognostic factor; 7 of 8 | Kidney function (eGFR) (mL/min/1.73 m2) prognostic factor, effect modifier; 6 of 8 | Treatment duration (weeks) effect modifier; 8 of 8 | Lifestyle co-intervention intensity (none standard intensive) effect modifier, prognostic factor; 8 of 8 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PIONEER 4 S000133 | 32.94 | 48 | 13.4 | 95.8 | 52 | not_reported |
| PIONEER 10 S000234 | 26.26 | 25.74 | 100 | 96.57 | 52 | not_reported |
| PIONEER 2 S000251 | 32.85 | 49.39 | 5.96 | 95.5 | 52 | not_reported |
| NCT03596450 S000545 | not reported | 45.77 | not reported | not reported | 104.36 | not_reported |
| PIONEER 7 S001153 | 31.19 | 43.45 | 15.08 | 94.36 | 104 | not_reported |
| SURMOUNT-2 S001712 | 36.1 | 50.73 | 13.33 | 95.19 | 72 | standard |
| STEP 2 S001740 | 35.7 | 50.9 | 26.2 | 95.43 | 68 | standard |
| PIONEER 3 S002267 | not reported | 47.16 | 13.14 | not reported | 78 | not_reported |
Comparability of the trials
- FlagBaseline, Baseline BMI or body weight: not reported by 2 of 8 trials
- FlagBaseline, Baseline BMI or body weight: design means range from 26.3 (DULA_SC vs SEMA_PO) to 36.1 (PLACEBO vs TIRZ_SC) kg/m2; threshold 3
- FlagBaseline, Sex: design means range from 25.7 (DULA_SC vs SEMA_PO) to 50.9 (PLACEBO vs SEMA_SC) percent female; threshold 15
- FlagBaseline, Asian ancestry or region: design means range from 6.0 (EMPAGLIFLOZIN vs SEMA_PO) to 100.0 (DULA_SC vs SEMA_PO) percent Asian; threshold 30
- FlagBaseline, Kidney function (eGFR): not reported by 2 of 8 trials
- FlagBaseline, Treatment duration: design means range from 52.0 (DULA_SC vs SEMA_PO) to 104.4 (SEMA_SC vs STANDARD_CARE) weeks; threshold 26
- NoteOutcome assessment, time point: selected time points span 52 to 78 weeks
- NoteOutcome assessment, analysis set: mixed: completers 1, full_analysis 6, randomized 1
- NoteOutcome assessment, intercurrent events (discontinuation): mixed: not stated 2, treatment_policy 6
- NoteOutcome assessment, intercurrent events (rescue): mixed: not stated 3, treatment_policy 5
- NoteRisk of bias, blinding: mixed: double_blind 4, open_label 2, single_blind 2
- NoteData handling, input conversions: arms_combined 4
| Trial | time weeks | analysis set | definition | instrument | adjudicated | proportion method | intercurrent events (discontinuation) | intercurrent events (rescue) | blinding | funding | start year | Eligibility |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PIONEER 4 | 52 | full_analysis | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | treatment_policy | treatment_policy | double_blind | industry | 2016 | Age 18 or older; T2D on metformin with or without SGLT2i; HbA1c 7.0 to 9.5 percent; eGFR 60 or more |
| PIONEER 10 | 52 | full_analysis | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | treatment_policy | treatment_policy | single_blind | industry | 2017 | Japanese adults 20 or older; T2D; HbA1c 7.0 to 10.5 percent on one oral glucose lowering drug |
| PIONEER 2 | 52 | full_analysis | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | treatment_policy | treatment_policy | single_blind | industry | 2016 | type 2 diabetes on metformin; HbA1c 7.0 to 10.5 percent; eGFR 60 or more |
| NCT03596450 | 52.18 | completers | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | treatment_policy | not stated | open_label | industry | 2018 | adults with type 2 diabetes on metformin, later up to 2 oral drugs, needing intensification |
| PIONEER 7 | 52 | randomized | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | open_label | industry | 2016 | age 18 or more; HbA1c 7.5 to 9.5 percent; one or two oral glucose lowering drugs |
| SURMOUNT-2 | 72 | full_analysis | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | treatment_policy | treatment_policy | double_blind | industry | 2021 | age 18 or older; BMI 27 or more; type 2 diabetes with HbA1c 7 to 10 percent on diet or oral drugs |
| STEP 2 | 68 | full_analysis | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | double_blind | industry | 2018 | age 18 or older; BMI 27 or more; HbA1c 7 to 10 percent; T2D on diet or up to 3 oral agents |
| PIONEER 3 | 78 | full_analysis | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | treatment_policy | treatment_policy | double_blind | industry | 2016 | adults with T2D; HbA1c 7.0 to 10.5 percent; metformin with or without sulfonylurea |
Trial data
| Trial | Arm | Treatment | Week | Data | Value | SE | Events / N | Flags | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PIONEER 4 | A1 | SEMA_PO | 52 | arm, percent_change | -4.940 | 0.377 | 285 | registry:outcomes | |
| PIONEER 4 | A2 | LIRA_SC | 52 | arm, percent_change | -3.250 | 0.257 | 284 | registry:outcomes | |
| PIONEER 4 | A3 | PLACEBO | 52 | arm, percent_change | -0.990 | 0.346 | 142 | registry:outcomes | |
| PIONEER 10 | A1+A2+A3 | SEMA_PO | 52 | arm, percent_change | -1.227 | 0.221 | 393 | arms_combined | registry:outcomes |
| PIONEER 10 | A4 | DULA_SC | 52 | arm, percent_change | 1.250 | 0.504 | 65 | registry:outcomes | |
| PIONEER 2 | A1 | SEMA_PO | 52 | arm, percent_change | -4.380 | 0.284 | 411 | registry:outcomes | |
| PIONEER 2 | A2 | EMPAGLIFLOZIN | 52 | arm, percent_change | -4.090 | 0.236 | 410 | registry:outcomes | |
| NCT03596450 | A1 | SEMA_SC | 52.18 | arm, percent_change | -3.930 | 0.518 | 458 | registry:outcomes | |
| NCT03596450 | A2 | STANDARD_CARE | 52.18 | arm, percent_change | -2.020 | 0.416 | 461 | registry:outcomes | |
| PIONEER 7 | A3 | SEMA_PO | 52 | contrast, md | -2.100 | 0.714 | R0023369:Supplement Table S10 | ||
| PIONEER 7 | A4 | SITAGLIPTIN | 52 | contrast, md | R0023369:Supplement Table S10 | ||||
| SURMOUNT-2 | A1+A2 | TIRZ_SC | 72 | arm, percent_change | -13.748 | 0.392 | 623 | arms_combined | R0008662:Table 2 |
| SURMOUNT-2 | A3 | PLACEBO | 72 | arm, percent_change | -3.200 | 0.500 | 315 | R0008662:Table 2 | |
| STEP 2 | A1+A2 | SEMA_SC | 68 | arm, percent_change | -8.591 | 0.267 | 784 | arms_combined | registry:outcomes |
| STEP 2 | A3 | PLACEBO | 68 | arm, percent_change | -3.300 | 0.274 | 403 | registry:outcomes | |
| PIONEER 3 | A1+A2+A3 | SEMA_PO | 78 | arm, percent_change | -2.753 | 0.143 | 1,396 | arms_combined | registry:outcomes |
| PIONEER 3 | A4 | SITAGLIPTIN | 78 | arm, percent_change | -0.990 | 0.203 | 467 | registry:outcomes |
Rerun this analysis yourself
Remove treatments or trials and refit the frequentist and Bayesian models in your browser, with the same methods as the published analysis.