parallel randomized trial
NCT03596450
Long Term Comparative Effectiveness of Once Weekly Semaglutide Versus Standard of Care in a Real World Adult US Population With Type 2 Diabetes - a Randomized Pragmatic Clinical Trial
Design
Conduct and analysis
Arms
| Arm | Treatment | Background | Randomized | Analyzed | Completed treatment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| A1 | Semaglutide flexible dose injection once weekly Semaglutide once weekly, physician dosed | up to 2 oral glucose lowering drugs including metformin; lifestyle: not reported | 644 | 644 | |
| A2 | Standard care or no added treatment Alternative treatment chosen by physician | up to 2 oral glucose lowering drugs including metformin; lifestyle: not reported | 634 | 634 |
Baseline characteristics
As printed in the trial reports or registry, per arm or for the whole trial.
| Characteristic | Statistic | Semaglutide flexible dose injection once weekly A1 | Standard care or no added treatment A2 |
|---|---|---|---|
| age | mean (years) | 57.47 | 57.24 |
| age | sd (years) | 11.305 | 10.982 |
| black | n | 90 | 99 |
| female | n | 309 | 276 |
| hispanic | n | 57 | 57 |
| other race american indian alaska native asian | n | 16 | 27 |
| other race native hawaiian pacific islander | n | 3 | 2 |
| other race other | n | 17 | 19 |
| white | n | 517 | 487 |
Analyses this trial contributes to
- HbA1c changeType 2 diabetes (adults); weeks 64 to 130 (target week 104); descriptive only
- HbA1c changeType 2 diabetes (adults); weeks 64 to 130 (target week 104); descriptive only
- HbA1c changeType 2 diabetes (adults); weeks 36 to 64 (target week 52); network meta-analysis
- HbA1c changeType 2 diabetes (adults); weeks 36 to 64 (target week 52); descriptive only
- Body weight change in kilograms (diabetes)Type 2 diabetes (adults); weeks 64 to 130 (target week 104); descriptive only
- Body weight change in kilograms (diabetes)Type 2 diabetes (adults); weeks 64 to 130 (target week 104); descriptive only
- Body weight change in kilograms (diabetes)Type 2 diabetes (adults); weeks 36 to 64 (target week 52); descriptive only
- Body weight change in kilograms (diabetes)Type 2 diabetes (adults); weeks 36 to 64 (target week 52); network meta-analysis
- HbA1c below 7 percentType 2 diabetes (adults); weeks 36 to 64 (target week 52); descriptive only
- HbA1c below 7 percentType 2 diabetes (adults); weeks 36 to 64 (target week 52); descriptive only
- HbA1c below 7 percentType 2 diabetes (adults); weeks 64 to 130 (target week 104); descriptive only
- HbA1c below 7 percentType 2 diabetes (adults); weeks 64 to 130 (target week 104); descriptive only
- Level 2 or 3 hypoglycemia (participants)Type 2 diabetes (adults); longest follow-up; network meta-analysis
- Level 2 or 3 hypoglycemia (participants)Type 2 diabetes (adults); longest follow-up; network meta-analysis
- Systolic blood pressure changeType 2 diabetes (adults); weeks 64 to 130 (target week 104); descriptive only
- Systolic blood pressure changeType 2 diabetes (adults); weeks 64 to 130 (target week 104); descriptive only
- Systolic blood pressure changeType 2 diabetes (adults); weeks 36 to 64 (target week 52); descriptive only
- Systolic blood pressure changeType 2 diabetes (adults); weeks 36 to 64 (target week 52); network meta-analysis
- Percent body weight changeType 2 diabetes (adults); weeks 40 to 104 (target week 68); descriptive only
- Percent body weight changeType 2 diabetes (adults); weeks 40 to 104 (target week 68); descriptive only
- Percent body weight changeType 2 diabetes (adults); weeks 104 to 182 (target week 104); descriptive only
- Percent body weight changeType 2 diabetes (adults); weeks 104 to 182 (target week 104); descriptive only
- SF-36 physical component summary changeType 2 diabetes (adults); weeks 20 to 130 (target week 52); descriptive only
- SF-36 physical component summary changeType 2 diabetes (adults); weeks 20 to 130 (target week 52); descriptive only
- Serious adverse eventsType 2 diabetes (adults); longest follow-up; network meta-analysis
- Serious adverse eventsType 2 diabetes (adults); longest follow-up; network meta-analysis
Results
79 adjudicated result lines, grouped by outcome. Open an outcome to see its values.
HbA1c change (10 lines; O01)
| Week | Arm | Statistic | Estimate | SE or SD | 95% CI | Events / N | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 52.18 | A1 | change | -1.35 percent | treatment policy; randomized; R0015592:Results | |||
| 52.18 | A1 | change | -1.46 percent | 1.67 | 430 | treatment policy; completers; R0015592:Table 1 | |
| 52.18 | A1 vs A2 | md | -0.20 percent | -0.39 to 0.00 | treatment policy; randomized; R0015592:Results | ||
| 52.18 | A2 | change | -1.14 percent | 1.71 | 461 | treatment policy; completers; R0015592:Table 1 | |
| 52.18 | A2 | change | -1.16 percent | treatment policy; randomized; R0015592:Results | |||
| 104.36 | A1 | change | -1.45 percent | 1.72 | 374 | treatment policy; completers; R0015592:Table 1 | |
| 104.36 | A1 vs A2 | md | -0.31 percent | -0.57 to -0.05 | treatment policy; randomized; R0015592:Results | ||
| 104.36 | A1 | change | -1.27 percent | treatment policy; randomized; R0015592:Results | |||
| 104.36 | A2 | change | -0.98 percent | 1.77 | 373 | treatment policy; completers; R0015592:Table 1 | |
| 104.36 | A2 | change | -0.96 percent | treatment policy; randomized; R0015592:Results |
Body weight change in kilograms (diabetes) (4 lines; O02)
| Week | Arm | Statistic | Estimate | SE or SD | 95% CI | Events / N | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 52.18 | A1 | change | -9.8 lb | 21.15 | 458 | treatment policy; completers; registry:outcomes | |
| 52.18 | A2 | change | -5.4 lb | 20.70 | 461 | treatment policy; completers; registry:outcomes | |
| 104.36 | A1 | change | -11.1 lb | 24.65 | 389 | treatment policy; completers; registry:outcomes | |
| 104.36 | A2 | change | -6.8 lb | 18.54 | 386 | treatment policy; completers; registry:outcomes |
HbA1c below 7 percent (10 lines; O03)
| Week | Arm | Statistic | Estimate | SE or SD | 95% CI | Events / N | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 52.18 | A1 | responders | 53.1 | treatment policy; randomized; R0015592:Results | |||
| 52.18 | A1 | responders | 244 / 430 | treatment policy; completers; R0015592:Table 1 | |||
| 52.18 | A1 vs A2 | or | 1.36 | 1.03 to 1.79 | treatment policy; randomized; R0015592:Results | ||
| 52.18 | A2 | responders | 226 / 462 | treatment policy; completers; R0015592:Table 1 | |||
| 52.18 | A2 | responders | 45.5 | treatment policy; randomized; R0015592:Results | |||
| 104.36 | A1 vs A2 | or | 1.56 | 1.13 to 2.16 | treatment policy; randomized; R0015592:Results | ||
| 104.36 | A1 | responders | 49.9 | treatment policy; randomized; R0015592:Results | |||
| 104.36 | A1 | responders | 209 / 374 | treatment policy; completers; R0015592:Table 1 | |||
| 104.36 | A2 | responders | 162 / 374 | treatment policy; completers; R0015592:Table 1 | |||
| 104.36 | A2 | responders | 38.9 | treatment policy; randomized; R0015592:Results |
Level 2 or 3 hypoglycemia (participants) (4 lines; O04)
| Week | Arm | Statistic | Estimate | SE or SD | 95% CI | Events / N | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| A1 | events | 0 / 644 | not stated; randomized; registry:outcomes | ||||
| A1 | events | 1 / 644 | not stated; randomized; registry:outcomes | ||||
| A2 | events | 0 / 634 | not stated; randomized; registry:outcomes | ||||
| A2 | events | 1 / 634 | not stated; randomized; registry:outcomes |
Systolic blood pressure change (4 lines; O05)
| Week | Arm | Statistic | Estimate | SE or SD | 95% CI | Events / N | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 52.18 | A1 | change | -2.3 mmHg | 16.40 | 456 | treatment policy; completers; registry:outcomes | |
| 52.18 | A2 | change | -1.8 mmHg | 16.34 | 457 | treatment policy; completers; registry:outcomes | |
| 104.36 | A1 | change | -3.0 mmHg | 17.03 | 388 | treatment policy; completers; registry:outcomes | |
| 104.36 | A2 | change | -2.8 mmHg | 16.91 | 386 | treatment policy; completers; registry:outcomes |
Percent body weight change (10 lines; O10)
| Week | Arm | Statistic | Estimate | SE or SD | 95% CI | Events / N | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 52.18 | A1 vs A2 | md | -1.65 percent | -2.92 to -0.39 | treatment policy; randomized; R0015592:Results | ||
| 52.18 | A1 | percent change | -3.57 percent | treatment policy; randomized; R0015592:Results | |||
| 52.18 | A1 | percent change | -3.93 percent | 11.092 | 458 | treatment policy; completers; registry:outcomes | |
| 52.18 | A2 | percent change | -1.91 percent | treatment policy; randomized; R0015592:Results | |||
| 52.18 | A2 | percent change | -2.02 percent | 8.924 | 461 | treatment policy; completers; registry:outcomes | |
| 104.36 | A1 vs A2 | md | -1.48 percent | -3.62 to 0.66 | treatment policy; randomized; R0015592:Results | ||
| 104.36 | A1 | percent change | -4.47 percent | 12.204 | 389 | treatment policy; completers; registry:outcomes | |
| 104.36 | A1 | percent change | -3.84 percent | treatment policy; randomized; R0015592:Results | |||
| 104.36 | A2 | percent change | -2.68 percent | 7.988 | 386 | treatment policy; completers; registry:outcomes | |
| 104.36 | A2 | percent change | -2.36 percent | treatment policy; randomized; R0015592:Results |
Acute kidney injury (2 lines; O121)
| Week | Arm | Statistic | Estimate | SE or SD | 95% CI | Events / N | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| A1 | events | 1 / 634 | not stated; safety; registry:adverse_events | ||||
| A2 | events | 1 / 621 | not stated; safety; registry:adverse_events |
All cause mortality (2 lines; O20)
| Week | Arm | Statistic | Estimate | SE or SD | 95% CI | Events / N | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| A1 | events | 9 / 634 | not stated; safety; registry:adverse_events | ||||
| A2 | events | 9 / 621 | not stated; safety; registry:adverse_events |
Hospitalization for heart failure (6 lines; O23)
| Week | Arm | Statistic | Estimate | SE or SD | 95% CI | Events / N | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| A1 | events | 1 / 634 | not stated; safety; cardiac failure acute; registry:adverse_events | ||||
| A1 | events | 0 / 634 | not stated; safety; cardiac failure congestive; registry:adverse_events | ||||
| A1 | events | 0 / 634 | not stated; safety; cardiac failure; registry:adverse_events | ||||
| A2 | events | 1 / 621 | not stated; safety; cardiac failure congestive; registry:adverse_events | ||||
| A2 | events | 1 / 621 | not stated; safety; cardiac failure; registry:adverse_events | ||||
| A2 | events | 1 / 621 | not stated; safety; cardiac failure acute; registry:adverse_events |
SF-36 physical component summary change (4 lines; O24A)
| Week | Arm | Statistic | Estimate | SE or SD | 95% CI | Events / N | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 52.18 | A1 | change | 2.8 points | 8.20 | 439 | treatment policy; completers; registry:outcomes | |
| 52.18 | A2 | change | 2.3 points | 7.60 | 449 | treatment policy; completers; registry:outcomes | |
| 104.36 | A1 | change | 2.6 points | 8.68 | 383 | treatment policy; completers; registry:outcomes | |
| 104.36 | A2 | change | 2.4 points | 7.99 | 376 | treatment policy; completers; registry:outcomes |
Health related quality of life total score (any instrument) (5 lines; O24C)
| Week | Arm | Statistic | Estimate | SE or SD | 95% CI | Events / N | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 52.18 | A1 | final | 13.5 points | 5.28 | 447 | treatment policy; completers; registry:outcomes | |
| 52.18 | A2 | final | 12.8 points | 5.82 | 460 | treatment policy; completers; registry:outcomes | |
| 104.36 | A1 vs A2 | md | 0.95 points | 0.09 to 1.81 | treatment policy; completers; R0015592:Results | ||
| 104.36 | A1 | final | 13.2 points | 6.24 | 388 | treatment policy; completers; registry:outcomes | |
| 104.36 | A2 | final | 12.2 points | 5.87 | 380 | treatment policy; completers; registry:outcomes |
Serious adverse events (2 lines; O25)
| Week | Arm | Statistic | Estimate | SE or SD | 95% CI | Events / N | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| A1 | events | 38 / 634 | not stated; safety; registry:adverse_events | ||||
| A2 | events | 39 / 621 | not stated; safety; registry:adverse_events |
Discontinuation due to adverse events (4 lines; O26)
| Week | Arm | Statistic | Estimate | SE or SD | 95% CI | Events / N | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| A1 | events | 14 / 644 | not stated; randomized; registry:flow | ||||
| A1 | events | 6.6 | not stated; safety; R0015592:Results | ||||
| A2 | events | 7 / 634 | not stated; randomized; registry:flow | ||||
| A2 | events | 4.7 | not stated; safety; R0015592:Results |
Vomiting (2 lines; O27B)
| Week | Arm | Statistic | Estimate | SE or SD | 95% CI | Events / N | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| A1 | events | 1 / 634 | not stated; safety; registry:adverse_events | ||||
| A2 | events | 0 / 621 | not stated; safety; registry:adverse_events |
Acute pancreatitis (4 lines; O29)
| Week | Arm | Statistic | Estimate | SE or SD | 95% CI | Events / N | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| A1 | events | 1 / 634 | not stated; safety; pancreatitis acute; registry:adverse_events | ||||
| A1 | events | 0 / 634 | not stated; safety; pancreatitis; registry:adverse_events | ||||
| A2 | events | 0 / 621 | not stated; safety; pancreatitis acute; registry:adverse_events | ||||
| A2 | events | 1 / 621 | not stated; safety; pancreatitis; registry:adverse_events |
Pancreatic cancer (6 lines; O38)
| Week | Arm | Statistic | Estimate | SE or SD | 95% CI | Events / N | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| A1 | events | 1 / 634 | not stated; safety; acinar cell carcinoma of pancreas; registry:adverse_events | ||||
| A1 | events | 1 / 634 | not stated; safety; adenocarcinoma pancreas; registry:adverse_events | ||||
| A1 | events | 1 / 634 | not stated; safety; pancreatic carcinoma; registry:adverse_events | ||||
| A2 | events | 0 / 621 | not stated; safety; acinar cell carcinoma of pancreas; registry:adverse_events | ||||
| A2 | events | 0 / 621 | not stated; safety; pancreatic carcinoma; registry:adverse_events | ||||
| A2 | events | 0 / 621 | not stated; safety; adenocarcinoma pancreas; registry:adverse_events |