Weight loss of 10 percent or more
Type 2 diabetes (adults); background therapy: one or more non insulin glucose lowering drugs
In plain language
Across 3 trials with 1,809 participants, 0 of 3 treatments had a clearly better result than semaglutide injection on weight loss of 10 percent or more, 3 a clearly worse one. The most favorable estimate was for Canagliflozin: odds ratio 0.33 (95% credible interval 0.13 to 0.90).
Higher values favor the treatment. "Clearly" means the 95% credible interval excludes no difference. These are averages across trials; they do not say how any one person will respond. Not medical advice.
Network of trials
Effects compared with Semaglutide injection
| Treatment | Bayesian OR (95% CrI) | 95% prediction interval | Frequentist OR (95% CI) | Verdict |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Canagliflozin CANAGLIFLOZIN | 0.33 (0.13 to 0.90) | 0.09 to 1.42 | 0.33 (0.20 to 0.52) | Worse |
| Liraglutide injection LIRA_SC | 0.26 (0.09 to 0.86) | 0.06 to 1.20 | Worse | |
| Dulaglutide injection DULA_SC | 0.23 (0.09 to 0.76) | 0.06 to 1.09 | 0.23 (0.15 to 0.34) | Worse |
Ranking
League table
| Row versus column | SEMA_SC | CANAGLIFLOZIN | LIRA_SC | DULA_SC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SEMA_SC | SEMA_SC | 3.03 1.11 to 7.66 | 3.85 1.17 to 10.69 | 4.27 1.32 to 10.59 |
| CANAGLIFLOZIN | 0.33 0.13 to 0.90 | CANAGLIFLOZIN | 1.29 0.27 to 5.30 | 1.42 0.31 to 5.44 |
| LIRA_SC | 0.26 0.09 to 0.86 | 0.78 0.19 to 3.73 | LIRA_SC | 1.10 0.25 to 4.80 |
| DULA_SC | 0.23 0.09 to 0.76 | 0.71 0.18 to 3.18 | 0.91 0.21 to 4.04 | DULA_SC |
Heterogeneity, fit and convergence
Bayesian random effects (primary)
Frequentist check (netmeta)
Inconsistency
No comparison here has both direct and indirect evidence, so inconsistency cannot be checked by node splitting; the between designs Q above is the global check.
Small study effects
Fewer than ten trial comparisons, too few to judge funnel plot asymmetry.
Baseline characteristics of the trials
| Trial | Baseline BMI or body weight (kg/m2) effect modifier, prognostic factor; 2 of 3 | Sex (percent female) effect modifier, prognostic factor; 3 of 3 | Treatment duration (weeks) effect modifier; 3 of 3 | Lifestyle co-intervention intensity (none standard intensive) effect modifier, prognostic factor; 3 of 3 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SUSTAIN 7 S000372 | 33.5 | 55.12 | 40 | not_reported |
| SUSTAIN 8 S001847 | not reported | 46.19 | 52 | not_reported |
| S003432 S003432 | 34.45 | 56.85 | 52 | not_reported |
Comparability of the trials
- FlagBaseline, Baseline BMI or body weight: not reported by 1 of 3 trials
- NoteOutcome assessment, time point: selected time points span 40 to 52 weeks
- NoteOutcome assessment, analysis set: mixed: full_analysis 2, other 1
- NoteOutcome assessment, proportion method: mixed: not stated 1, not_stated 2
- NoteRisk of bias, blinding: mixed: double_blind 1, open_label 2
- NoteRisk of bias, funding: mixed: industry 2, non_industry 1
- NoteData handling, input conversions: arms_combined 2, count_from_percent 4
| Trial | time weeks | analysis set | definition | instrument | adjudicated | proportion method | intercurrent events (discontinuation) | intercurrent events (rescue) | blinding | funding | start year | Eligibility |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SUSTAIN 7 | 40 | full_analysis | not stated | not stated | not stated | not_stated | not stated | not stated | open_label | industry | 2016 | age 18 or older; HbA1c 7.0 to 10.5 percent; eGFR 60 or higher; metformin background |
| SUSTAIN 8 | 52 | full_analysis | not stated | not stated | not stated | not_stated | not stated | not stated | double_blind | industry | 2017 | age 18 or older; HbA1c 7.0 to 10.5 percent; eGFR 60 or higher; metformin 1500 mg or maximum tolerated |
| S003432 | 52 | other | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | open_label | non_industry | 2020 | age 18 to 65; type 2 diabetes 1 year or more; HbA1c 7.0 to 10.5 percent; BMI 30 or higher; stable metformin |
Trial data
| Trial | Arm | Treatment | Week | Data | Value | SE | Events / N | Flags | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SUSTAIN 7 | A1+A2 | SEMA_SC | 40 | arm, responders | 123 / 601 | count_from_percent;arms_combined | registry:outcomes | ||
| SUSTAIN 7 | A3+A4 | DULA_SC | 40 | arm, responders | 33 / 597 | count_from_percent;arms_combined | registry:outcomes | ||
| SUSTAIN 8 | A1 | SEMA_SC | 52 | arm, responders | 69 / 298 | count_from_percent | registry:outcomes | ||
| SUSTAIN 8 | A2 | CANAGLIFLOZIN | 52 | arm, responders | 28 / 313 | count_from_percent | registry:outcomes | ||
| S003432 | A1 | SEMA_SC | 52 | contrast, or | 1.411 | 0.347 | R0053844:Table 1 | ||
| S003432 | A2 | LIRA_SC | 52 | contrast, or | R0053844:Table 1 |
Rerun this analysis yourself
Remove treatments or trials and refit the frequentist and Bayesian models in your browser, with the same methods as the published analysis.