Weight loss of 5 percent or more
Type 2 diabetes (adults); background therapy: one or more non insulin glucose lowering drugs
In plain language
Across 4 trials with 2,465 participants, 2 of 5 treatments had a clearly better result than placebo on weight loss of 5 percent or more, and for 3 the evidence could not tell them apart from placebo. The most favorable estimate was for Semaglutide injection: odds ratio 8.33 (95% credible interval 1.50 to 26.73).
Higher values favor the treatment. "Clearly" means the 95% credible interval excludes no difference. These are averages across trials; they do not say how any one person will respond. Not medical advice.
Network of trials
Effects compared with Placebo
| Treatment | Bayesian OR (95% CrI) | 95% prediction interval | Frequentist OR (95% CI) | Verdict |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Semaglutide injection SEMA_SC | 8.33 (1.50 to 26.73) | 1.03 to 32.51 | Better | |
| Canagliflozin CANAGLIFLOZIN | 6.37 (0.80 to 24.79) | 0.54 to 29.75 | Unclear | |
| Cotadutide injection COTA_SC | 4.53 (1.32 to 12.28) | 0.86 to 16.72 | Better | |
| Liraglutide injection LIRA_SC | 2.90 (0.82 to 7.48) | 0.51 to 10.38 | Unclear | |
| Dulaglutide injection DULA_SC | 2.58 (0.38 to 9.65) | 0.27 to 12.03 | Unclear |
Ranking
League table
| Row versus column | PLACEBO | SEMA_SC | CANAGLIFLOZIN | COTA_SC | LIRA_SC | DULA_SC |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PLACEBO | PLACEBO | 0.12 0.04 to 0.67 | 0.16 0.04 to 1.25 | 0.22 0.08 to 0.76 | 0.35 0.13 to 1.22 | 0.39 0.10 to 2.66 |
| SEMA_SC | 8.33 1.50 to 26.73 | SEMA_SC | 1.32 0.53 to 3.91 | 1.89 0.37 to 6.00 | 2.90 0.86 to 7.18 | 3.24 1.22 to 8.62 |
| CANAGLIFLOZIN | 6.37 0.80 to 24.79 | 0.76 0.26 to 1.87 | CANAGLIFLOZIN | 1.44 0.19 to 5.70 | 2.21 0.41 to 7.09 | 2.47 0.60 to 9.08 |
| COTA_SC | 4.53 1.32 to 12.28 | 0.53 0.17 to 2.71 | 0.69 0.18 to 5.16 | COTA_SC | 1.54 0.61 to 4.58 | 1.72 0.43 to 11.16 |
| LIRA_SC | 2.90 0.82 to 7.48 | 0.35 0.14 to 1.16 | 0.45 0.14 to 2.42 | 0.65 0.22 to 1.64 | LIRA_SC | 1.11 0.33 to 5.38 |
| DULA_SC | 2.58 0.38 to 9.65 | 0.31 0.12 to 0.82 | 0.40 0.11 to 1.68 | 0.58 0.09 to 2.32 | 0.90 0.19 to 3.03 | DULA_SC |
Heterogeneity, fit and convergence
Bayesian random effects (primary)
Inconsistency
No comparison here has both direct and indirect evidence, so inconsistency cannot be checked by node splitting.
Small study effects
Fewer than ten trial comparisons, too few to judge funnel plot asymmetry.
Baseline characteristics of the trials
| Trial | Baseline BMI or body weight (kg/m2) effect modifier, prognostic factor; 2 of 4 | Sex (percent female) effect modifier, prognostic factor; 4 of 4 | Treatment duration (weeks) effect modifier; 4 of 4 | Lifestyle co-intervention intensity (none standard intensive) effect modifier, prognostic factor; 4 of 4 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SUSTAIN 8 S001847 | not reported | 46.19 | 52 | not_reported |
| NCT03235050 S000257 | not reported | 53.72 | 54 | not_reported |
| SUSTAIN 7 S000372 | 33.5 | 55.12 | 40 | not_reported |
| S003432 S003432 | 34.45 | 56.85 | 52 | not_reported |
Comparability of the trials
- FlagBaseline, Baseline BMI or body weight: not reported by 2 of 4 trials
- NoteOutcome assessment, time point: selected time points span 40 to 54 weeks
- NoteOutcome assessment, analysis set: mixed: full_analysis 2, other 1, per_protocol 1
- NoteOutcome assessment, proportion method: mixed: not stated 2, not_stated 2
- NoteRisk of bias, blinding: mixed: double_blind 2, open_label 2
- NoteRisk of bias, funding: mixed: industry 3, non_industry 1
- NoteData handling, input conversions: arms_combined 3, count_from_percent 4
| Trial | funding | time weeks | analysis set | definition | instrument | adjudicated | proportion method | intercurrent events (discontinuation) | intercurrent events (rescue) | blinding | start year | Eligibility |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SUSTAIN 8 | industry | 52 | full_analysis | not stated | not stated | not stated | not_stated | not stated | not stated | double_blind | 2017 | age 18 or older; HbA1c 7.0 to 10.5 percent; eGFR 60 or higher; metformin 1500 mg or maximum tolerated |
| NCT03235050 | industry | 54 | per_protocol | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | double_blind | 2017 | age 18 or older; BMI 25 or higher; HbA1c 7.0 to 10.5 percent; on metformin |
| SUSTAIN 7 | industry | 40 | full_analysis | not stated | not stated | not stated | not_stated | not stated | not stated | open_label | 2016 | age 18 or older; HbA1c 7.0 to 10.5 percent; eGFR 60 or higher; metformin background |
| S003432 | non_industry | 52 | other | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | open_label | 2020 | age 18 to 65; type 2 diabetes 1 year or more; HbA1c 7.0 to 10.5 percent; BMI 30 or higher; stable metformin |
Trial data
| Trial | Arm | Treatment | Week | Data | Value | SE | Events / N | Flags | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NCT03235050 | A1 | PLACEBO | 54 | arm, responders | 9 / 91 | R0016374:Results | |||
| NCT03235050 | A2 | LIRA_SC | 54 | arm, responders | 32 / 104 | R0016374:Results | |||
| NCT03235050 | A3+A4+A5 | COTA_SC | 54 | arm, responders | 176 / 461 | arms_combined | R0016374:Results | ||
| SUSTAIN 7 | A1+A2 | SEMA_SC | 40 | arm, responders | 321 / 601 | count_from_percent;arms_combined | registry:outcomes | ||
| SUSTAIN 7 | A3+A4 | DULA_SC | 40 | arm, responders | 158 / 597 | count_from_percent;arms_combined | registry:outcomes | ||
| SUSTAIN 8 | A1 | SEMA_SC | 52 | arm, responders | 157 / 298 | count_from_percent | registry:outcomes | ||
| SUSTAIN 8 | A2 | CANAGLIFLOZIN | 52 | arm, responders | 147 / 313 | count_from_percent | registry:outcomes | ||
| S003432 | A1 | SEMA_SC | 52 | contrast, or | 1.235 | 0.290 | R0053844:Table 1 | ||
| S003432 | A2 | LIRA_SC | 52 | contrast, or | R0053844:Table 1 |
Rerun this analysis yourself
Remove treatments or trials and refit the frequentist and Bayesian models in your browser, with the same methods as the published analysis.