SF-36 physical component summary change
Type 2 diabetes (adults)
In plain language
Across 11 trials with 5,454 participants, 0 of 8 treatments had a clearly better result than placebo on SF-36 physical component summary change, and for 8 the evidence could not tell them apart from placebo. The most favorable estimate was for Semaglutide injection: mean difference 1.17 points (95% credible interval -0.01 to 2.29).
Higher values favor the treatment. "Clearly" means the 95% credible interval excludes no difference. These are averages across trials; they do not say how any one person will respond. Not medical advice.
Network of trials
Effects compared with Placebo
| Treatment | Bayesian MD (95% CrI) | 95% prediction interval | Frequentist MD (95% CI) | Verdict |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Semaglutide injection SEMA_SC | 1.17 (-0.01 to 2.29) | -0.26 to 2.59 | 1.18 (0.32 to 2.05) | Unclear |
| Exenatide extended release injection EXENER_SC | 0.71 (-1.13 to 2.54) | -1.28 to 2.72 | 0.72 (-0.68 to 2.12) | Unclear |
| Dulaglutide injection DULA_SC | 0.40 (-1.45 to 2.16) | -1.68 to 2.39 | 0.41 (-1.11 to 1.92) | Unclear |
| Liraglutide injection LIRA_SC | 0.25 (-1.21 to 1.69) | -1.42 to 1.96 | 0.27 (-0.97 to 1.50) | Unclear |
| Insulin aspart (prandial) INS_ASPART | 0.22 (-1.33 to 1.76) | -1.57 to 1.95 | 0.23 (-0.81 to 1.27) | Unclear |
| Sitagliptin SITAGLIPTIN | -0.05 (-1.18 to 1.08) | -1.48 to 1.37 | -0.03 (-0.82 to 0.77) | Unclear |
| Orforglipron tablet ORFO_PO | -0.22 (-1.04 to 0.63) | -1.40 to 1.05 | -0.23 (-0.88 to 0.42) | Unclear |
| Semaglutide tablet SEMA_PO | -0.28 (-1.08 to 0.50) | -1.48 to 0.89 | -0.26 (-0.87 to 0.34) | Unclear |
Ranking
League table
| Row versus column | PLACEBO | SEMA_SC | EXENER_SC | DULA_SC | LIRA_SC | INS_ASPART | SITAGLIPTIN | ORFO_PO | SEMA_PO |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PLACEBO | PLACEBO | -1.17 -2.29 to 0.01 | -0.71 -2.54 to 1.13 | -0.40 -2.16 to 1.45 | -0.25 -1.69 to 1.21 | -0.22 -1.76 to 1.33 | 0.05 -1.08 to 1.18 | 0.22 -0.63 to 1.04 | 0.28 -0.50 to 1.08 |
| SEMA_SC | 1.17 -0.01 to 2.29 | SEMA_SC | 0.46 -1.01 to 1.87 | 0.77 -1.17 to 2.81 | 0.90 -0.82 to 2.68 | 0.95 -0.13 to 1.97 | 1.22 0.18 to 2.24 | 1.39 0.03 to 2.68 | 1.44 0.31 to 2.62 |
| EXENER_SC | 0.71 -1.13 to 2.54 | -0.46 -1.87 to 1.01 | EXENER_SC | 0.32 -2.08 to 2.81 | 0.45 -1.79 to 2.72 | 0.49 -1.27 to 2.24 | 0.74 -1.02 to 2.54 | 0.91 -0.98 to 2.84 | 0.97 -0.86 to 2.85 |
| DULA_SC | 0.40 -1.45 to 2.16 | -0.77 -2.81 to 1.17 | -0.32 -2.81 to 2.08 | DULA_SC | 0.12 -2.06 to 2.25 | 0.17 -2.11 to 2.37 | 0.45 -1.52 to 2.27 | 0.61 -1.30 to 2.44 | 0.66 -1.01 to 2.31 |
| LIRA_SC | 0.25 -1.21 to 1.69 | -0.90 -2.68 to 0.82 | -0.45 -2.72 to 1.79 | -0.12 -2.25 to 2.06 | LIRA_SC | 0.03 -1.99 to 2.07 | 0.30 -1.39 to 1.98 | 0.48 -1.12 to 2.01 | 0.54 -0.90 to 1.93 |
| INS_ASPART | 0.22 -1.33 to 1.76 | -0.95 -1.97 to 0.13 | -0.49 -2.24 to 1.27 | -0.17 -2.37 to 2.11 | -0.03 -2.07 to 1.99 | INS_ASPART | 0.27 -1.23 to 1.73 | 0.45 -1.26 to 2.05 | 0.50 -0.98 to 2.05 |
| SITAGLIPTIN | -0.05 -1.18 to 1.08 | -1.22 -2.24 to -0.18 | -0.74 -2.54 to 1.02 | -0.45 -2.27 to 1.52 | -0.30 -1.98 to 1.39 | -0.27 -1.73 to 1.23 | SITAGLIPTIN | 0.18 -1.08 to 1.37 | 0.23 -0.71 to 1.20 |
| ORFO_PO | -0.22 -1.04 to 0.63 | -1.39 -2.68 to -0.03 | -0.91 -2.84 to 0.98 | -0.61 -2.44 to 1.30 | -0.48 -2.01 to 1.12 | -0.45 -2.05 to 1.26 | -0.18 -1.37 to 1.08 | ORFO_PO | 0.05 -0.78 to 0.95 |
| SEMA_PO | -0.28 -1.08 to 0.50 | -1.44 -2.62 to -0.31 | -0.97 -2.85 to 0.86 | -0.66 -2.31 to 1.01 | -0.54 -1.93 to 0.90 | -0.50 -2.05 to 0.98 | -0.23 -1.20 to 0.71 | -0.05 -0.95 to 0.78 | SEMA_PO |
Heterogeneity, fit and convergence
Bayesian random effects (primary)
Frequentist check (netmeta)
Inconsistency
No comparison here has both direct and indirect evidence, so inconsistency cannot be checked by node splitting; the between designs Q above is the global check.
Small study effects
Fewer than ten trial comparisons, too few to judge funnel plot asymmetry.
Comparability of the trials
- NoteOutcome assessment, time point: selected time points span 26 to 56 weeks
- NoteOutcome assessment, analysis set: mixed: full_analysis 8, modified_itt 2, randomized 1
- NoteOutcome assessment, definition: mixed: not stated 10, SF-36v2 physical component summary change 1
- NoteOutcome assessment, instrument: mixed: not stated 9, SF-36v2 2
- NoteOutcome assessment, intercurrent events (discontinuation): mixed: hypothetical 8, not stated 3
- NoteOutcome assessment, intercurrent events (rescue): mixed: hypothetical 7, not stated 4
- NoteRisk of bias, blinding: mixed: double_blind 7, open_label 3, single_blind 1
- NoteData handling, input conversions: arms_combined 8
| Trial | proportion method | time weeks | analysis set | definition | instrument | adjudicated | intercurrent events (discontinuation) | intercurrent events (rescue) | blinding | funding | start year | Eligibility |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ACHIEVE-5 | not stated | 40 | randomized | not stated | not stated | not stated | hypothetical | hypothetical | double_blind | industry | 2023 | adults with T2D on insulin glargine with or without metformin or SGLT2 inhibitor |
| PIONEER 10 | not stated | 52 | full_analysis | not stated | SF-36v2 | not stated | hypothetical | hypothetical | single_blind | industry | 2017 | Japanese adults 20 or older; T2D; HbA1c 7.0 to 10.5 percent on one oral glucose lowering drug |
| SUSTAIN™ 3 | not stated | 56 | full_analysis | SF-36v2 physical component summary change | SF-36v2 | not stated | hypothetical | hypothetical | open_label | industry | 2013 | age 18 or older; T2D on stable 1 to 2 oral drugs; HbA1c 7.0 to 10.5 percent; eGFR 60 or more |
| SUSTAIN 11 | not stated | 52 | full_analysis | not stated | not stated | not stated | hypothetical | not stated | open_label | industry | 2018 | adults; HbA1c above 7.5 to 10.0 percent on insulin glargine plus metformin |
| ACHIEVE-3 | not stated | 52 | modified_itt | not stated | not stated | not stated | hypothetical | hypothetical | open_label | industry | 2023 | adults T2D on metformin; HbA1c 7.0 to 10.5 percent |
| SUSTAIN 9 | not stated | 30 | full_analysis | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | double_blind | industry | 2017 | adults 18 or older (20 in Japan); HbA1c 7.0 to 10.5 percent; stable SGLT2i with or without metformin or SU |
| PIONEER 12 | not stated | 26 | full_analysis | not stated | not stated | not stated | hypothetical | hypothetical | double_blind | industry | 2019 | adults with type 2 diabetes on metformin, HbA1c 7.0 to 10.5 percent |
| SUSTAIN | not stated | 30 | full_analysis | not stated | not stated | not stated | hypothetical | hypothetical | double_blind | industry | 2017 | Adults 18 or older, HbA1c 7.0 to 10.5 percent on metformin monotherapy, eGFR 60 or more |
| PIONEER 11 | not stated | 26 | full_analysis | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | double_blind | industry | 2019 | age 18 or older; HbA1c 7.0 to 10.0 percent at screening, 7.0 to 9.5 at randomization; no glucose lowering drugs; eGFR 60 or more |
| PIONEER 9 | not stated | 52 | full_analysis | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | double_blind | industry | 2017 | Japanese adults 20 y or older; HbA1c 6.5 to 9.5 on one oral drug washed out, or 7.0 to 10.0 on diet and exercise |
| ACHIEVE-1 | not stated | 40 | modified_itt | not stated | not stated | not stated | hypothetical | hypothetical | double_blind | industry | 2023 | adults with type 2 diabetes on diet and exercise alone; HbA1c 7.0 to 9.5 percent |
Trial data
| Trial | Arm | Treatment | Week | Data | Value | SE | Events / N | Flags | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PIONEER 10 | A1 | SEMA_PO | 52 | contrast, md | -0.670 | 0.709 | R0018421:Supplement Figure S5B | ||
| PIONEER 10 | A4 | DULA_SC | 52 | contrast, md | R0018421:Supplement Figure S5B | ||||
| SUSTAIN™ 3 | A1 | SEMA_SC | 56 | contrast, md | 0.460 | 0.561 | R0020680:Supplement Figure S5B | ||
| SUSTAIN™ 3 | A2 | EXENER_SC | 56 | contrast, md | R0020680:Supplement Figure S5B | ||||
| SUSTAIN 11 | A1 | SEMA_SC | 52 | contrast, md | 0.950 | 0.296 | R0022346:Results | ||
| SUSTAIN 11 | A2 | INS_ASPART | 52 | contrast, md | R0022346:Results | ||||
| ACHIEVE-3 | A1+A2 | ORFO_PO | 52 | arm, change | 2.727 | 0.234 | 649 | arms_combined | registry:outcomes |
| ACHIEVE-3 | A3+A4 | SEMA_PO | 52 | arm, change | 2.718 | 0.229 | 677 | arms_combined | registry:outcomes |
| SUSTAIN 9 | A1 | SEMA_SC | 30 | arm, change | 1.900 | 0.399 | 151 | registry:outcomes | |
| SUSTAIN 9 | A2 | PLACEBO | 30 | arm, change | 0.700 | 0.439 | 151 | registry:outcomes | |
| PIONEER 12 | A1+A2+A3 | SEMA_PO | 26 | arm, change | 0.461 | 0.164 | 941 | arms_combined | registry:outcomes |
| PIONEER 12 | A4 | SITAGLIPTIN | 26 | arm, change | 0.690 | 0.308 | 334 | registry:outcomes | |
| ACHIEVE-5 | A1 | PLACEBO | 40 | arm, change | 0.710 | 0.491 | 141 | registry:outcomes | |
| ACHIEVE-5 | A2+A3+A4 | ORFO_PO | 40 | arm, change | 0.625 | 0.319 | 405 | arms_combined | registry:outcomes |
| SUSTAIN | A1+A2 | SEMA_SC | 30 | arm, change | 1.199 | 0.267 | 495 | arms_combined | registry:outcomes |
| SUSTAIN | A3 | SITAGLIPTIN | 30 | arm, change | 0.000 | 0.362 | 257 | registry:outcomes | |
| PIONEER 11 | A1+A2+A3 | SEMA_PO | 26 | arm, change | 0.646 | 0.264 | 349 | arms_combined | registry:outcomes |
| PIONEER 11 | A4 | PLACEBO | 26 | arm, change | 0.940 | 0.457 | 106 | registry:outcomes | |
| PIONEER 9 | A1+A2+A3 | SEMA_PO | 52 | arm, change | -0.463 | 0.404 | 146 | arms_combined | registry:outcomes |
| PIONEER 9 | A4 | LIRA_SC | 52 | arm, change | 0.100 | 0.494 | 48 | registry:outcomes | |
| PIONEER 9 | A5 | PLACEBO | 52 | arm, change | -0.100 | 0.576 | 49 | registry:outcomes | |
| ACHIEVE-1 | A1 | PLACEBO | 40 | arm, change | 2.250 | 0.592 | 136 | registry:outcomes | |
| ACHIEVE-1 | A2+A3+A4 | ORFO_PO | 40 | arm, change | 1.950 | 0.331 | 419 | arms_combined | registry:outcomes |
Rerun this analysis yourself
Remove treatments or trials and refit the frequentist and Bayesian models in your browser, with the same methods as the published analysis.