LivingGLP1
parallel randomized trial

TODINELI

A Randomized, Double-blinded, Single-centre, Parallel-group, Placebo-controlled, Prospective Trial of Neuroprotective Effect of Liraglutide for Treatment of Diabetic Neuropathy.

Design

Randomized
48
Start year
2014
Treatment
26 weeks, follow-up 26 weeks
Countries
Denmark (1 sites)
Sponsor
Aalborg University Hospital (mixed)
Eligibility
age over 18; type 1 diabetes 2 years or more; HbA1c 6.5 percent or more; BMI over 22; confirmed polyneuropathy; eGFR 60 or more

Conduct and analysis

Blinding
double blind
Sequence generation
other adequate
Allocation concealment
pharmacy or sealed
Outcome adjudication
not reported
Primary estimand
not stated
Analysis population
completers
Missing data
completers only

Arms

ArmTreatmentBackgroundRandomizedAnalyzedCompleted treatment
A1Liraglutide subcutaneous once daily, flexible dose: 1.2 or 1.8 mg by tolerability
Liraglutide 1.2 to 1.8 mg
basal and bolus insulin or insulin pump; lifestyle: not reported19
A2Placebo
Placebo
basal and bolus insulin or insulin pump; lifestyle: not reported20

Baseline characteristics

As printed in the trial reports or registry, per arm or for the whole trial.
CharacteristicStatisticLiraglutide subcutaneous once daily, flexible dose: 1.2 or 1.8 mg by tolerability
A1
Placebo
A2
agemean (years)5150
agesd (years)108
bmimean (kg/m2)2929
bmisd (kg/m2)45
diabetes durationmean (years)3232
diabetes durationmedian (years)3132
diabetes durationsd (years)117
egfrmedian (mL/min/1.73 m2)8585
egfrq1 (mL/min/1.73 m2)6572
egfrq3 (mL/min/1.73 m2)9090
hba1cmean (mmol/mol)6964
hba1cmedian (percent)8.57.9
hba1cq1 (percent)7.57.3
hba1cq3 (percent)9.58.6
hba1csd (mmol/mol)1210
insulin dosemedian (U/day)55.044.0
insulin doseq1 (U/day)44.0
insulin doseq3 (U/day)82.068.0
other malen1714
other malepercent9070
sbpmean (mmHg)153150
sbpsd (mmHg)1616
weightmean (kg)9392
weightsd (kg)1717

Analyses this trial contributes to

Results

6 adjudicated result lines, grouped by outcome. Open an outcome to see its values.
HbA1c change (3 lines; O01)
WeekArmStatisticEstimateSE or SD95% CIEvents / NDetail
26A1final mmol/mol19not stated; completers; R0012788:Table 3
26A1 vs A2md1.18 percent-4.31 to 6.98not stated; completers; R0012788:Table 3
26A2final mmol/mol20not stated; completers; R0012788:Table 3
Total daily insulin dose change (3 lines; O06)
WeekArmStatisticEstimateSE or SD95% CIEvents / NDetail
26A1final U/day19not stated; completers; R0012788:Table 3
26A1 vs A2md-1.57 percent-18.14 to 18.34not stated; completers; R0012788:Table 3
26A2final U/day20not stated; completers; R0012788:Table 3