Weight loss of 10 percent or more
Type 2 diabetes (adults); background therapy: one or more non insulin glucose lowering drugs
In plain language
Across 4 trials with 4,363 participants, 3 of 6 treatments had a clearly better result than placebo on weight loss of 10 percent or more, and for 3 the evidence could not tell them apart from placebo. The most favorable estimate was for Semaglutide 14 mg oral once daily (original tablet): odds ratio 11.05 (95% credible interval 3.10 to 43.87).
Higher values favor the treatment. "Clearly" means the 95% credible interval excludes no difference. These are averages across trials; they do not say how any one person will respond. Not medical advice.
Network of trials
Effects compared with Placebo
| Treatment | Bayesian OR (95% CrI) | 95% prediction interval | Frequentist OR (95% CI) | Verdict |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Semaglutide 14 mg oral once daily (original tablet) SEMA_PO_14MG_QD | 11.05 (3.10 to 43.87) | 2.35 to 52.38 | Better | |
| Semaglutide 7 mg oral once daily (original tablet) SEMA_PO_7MG_QD | 6.77 (1.65 to 28.80) | 1.26 to 33.11 | Better | |
| Liraglutide 1.8 mg subcutaneous once daily LIRA_SC_1p8MG_QD | 4.58 (1.16 to 19.74) | 0.88 to 24.73 | Better | |
| Dulaglutide 0.75 mg subcutaneous once weekly DULA_SC_0p75MG_QW | 1.67 (0.09 to 14.53) | 0.08 to 16.87 | Unclear | |
| Sitagliptin SITAGLIPTIN | 1.27 (0.25 to 5.99) | 0.21 to 7.11 | Unclear | |
| Semaglutide 3 mg oral once daily (original tablet) SEMA_PO_3MG_QD | 1.14 (0.24 to 5.17) | 0.19 to 5.97 | Unclear |
Ranking
League table
| Row versus column | PLACEBO | SEMA_PO_14MG_QD | SEMA_PO_7MG_QD | LIRA_SC_1p8MG_QD | DULA_SC_0p75MG_QW | SITAGLIPTIN | SEMA_PO_3MG_QD |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PLACEBO | PLACEBO | 0.09 0.02 to 0.32 | 0.15 0.03 to 0.61 | 0.22 0.05 to 0.86 | 0.60 0.07 to 10.53 | 0.79 0.17 to 4.00 | 0.88 0.19 to 4.18 |
| SEMA_PO_14MG_QD | 11.05 3.10 to 43.87 | SEMA_PO_14MG_QD | 1.62 0.91 to 3.16 | 2.43 0.84 to 6.08 | 6.34 0.98 to 109 | 8.60 3.86 to 22.92 | 9.62 4.53 to 24.90 |
| SEMA_PO_7MG_QD | 6.77 1.65 to 28.80 | 0.62 0.32 to 1.10 | SEMA_PO_7MG_QD | 1.50 0.43 to 4.36 | 3.92 0.57 to 65.22 | 5.32 2.32 to 13.94 | 5.95 2.66 to 15.12 |
| LIRA_SC_1p8MG_QD | 4.58 1.16 to 19.74 | 0.41 0.16 to 1.20 | 0.67 0.23 to 2.35 | LIRA_SC_1p8MG_QD | 2.71 0.33 to 48.33 | 3.55 1.09 to 15.75 | 3.93 1.22 to 17.45 |
| DULA_SC_0p75MG_QW | 1.67 0.09 to 14.53 | 0.16 0.01 to 1.02 | 0.26 0.02 to 1.75 | 0.37 0.02 to 3.03 | DULA_SC_0p75MG_QW | 1.35 0.08 to 11.09 | 1.53 0.09 to 11.30 |
| SITAGLIPTIN | 1.27 0.25 to 5.99 | 0.12 0.04 to 0.26 | 0.19 0.07 to 0.43 | 0.28 0.06 to 0.92 | 0.74 0.09 to 12.84 | SITAGLIPTIN | 1.11 0.38 to 3.24 |
| SEMA_PO_3MG_QD | 1.14 0.24 to 5.17 | 0.10 0.04 to 0.22 | 0.17 0.07 to 0.38 | 0.25 0.06 to 0.82 | 0.65 0.09 to 11.06 | 0.90 0.31 to 2.60 | SEMA_PO_3MG_QD |
Heterogeneity, fit and convergence
Bayesian random effects (primary)
Inconsistency
No comparison here has both direct and indirect evidence, so inconsistency cannot be checked by node splitting.
Small study effects
Fewer than ten trial comparisons, too few to judge funnel plot asymmetry.
Baseline characteristics of the trials
| Trial | Baseline BMI or body weight (kg/m2) effect modifier, prognostic factor; 3 of 4 | Sex (percent female) effect modifier, prognostic factor; 4 of 4 | Treatment duration (weeks) effect modifier; 4 of 4 | Lifestyle co-intervention intensity (none standard intensive) effect modifier, prognostic factor; 4 of 4 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PIONEER 4 S000133 | 32.94 | 48 | 52 | not_reported |
| PIONEER 10 S000234 | 26.26 | 25.74 | 52 | not_reported |
| PIONEER 12 S000522 | 28.58 | 41.7 | 26 | not_reported |
| PIONEER 3 S002267 | not reported | 47.16 | 78 | not_reported |
Comparability of the trials
- FlagBaseline, Baseline BMI or body weight: not reported by 1 of 4 trials
- FlagBaseline, Baseline BMI or body weight: design means range from 26.3 (DULA_SC_0p75MG_QW vs SEMA_PO_14MG_QD vs SEMA_PO_3MG_QD vs SEMA_PO_7MG_QD) to 32.9 (LIRA_SC_1p8MG_QD vs PLACEBO vs SEMA_PO_14MG_QD) kg/m2; threshold 3
- FlagBaseline, Sex: design means range from 25.7 (DULA_SC_0p75MG_QW vs SEMA_PO_14MG_QD vs SEMA_PO_3MG_QD vs SEMA_PO_7MG_QD) to 48.0 (LIRA_SC_1p8MG_QD vs PLACEBO vs SEMA_PO_14MG_QD) percent female; threshold 15
- NoteOutcome assessment, definition: mixed: HbA1c below 7.0 percent 1, not stated 3
- NoteOutcome assessment, intercurrent events (discontinuation): mixed: hypothetical 3, not stated 1
- NoteOutcome assessment, intercurrent events (rescue): mixed: hypothetical 3, not stated 1
- NoteRisk of bias, blinding: mixed: double_blind 3, single_blind 1
| Trial | time weeks | analysis set | definition | instrument | adjudicated | proportion method | intercurrent events (discontinuation) | intercurrent events (rescue) | blinding | funding | start year | Eligibility |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PIONEER 4 | 26 | full_analysis | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | hypothetical | hypothetical | double_blind | industry | 2016 | Age 18 or older; T2D on metformin with or without SGLT2i; HbA1c 7.0 to 9.5 percent; eGFR 60 or more |
| PIONEER 10 | 26 | full_analysis | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | hypothetical | hypothetical | single_blind | industry | 2017 | Japanese adults 20 or older; T2D; HbA1c 7.0 to 10.5 percent on one oral glucose lowering drug |
| PIONEER 12 | 26 | full_analysis | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | hypothetical | hypothetical | double_blind | industry | 2019 | adults with type 2 diabetes on metformin, HbA1c 7.0 to 10.5 percent |
| PIONEER 3 | 26 | full_analysis | HbA1c below 7.0 percent | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | double_blind | industry | 2016 | adults with T2D; HbA1c 7.0 to 10.5 percent; metformin with or without sulfonylurea |
Trial data
| Trial | Arm | Treatment | Week | Data | Value | SE | Events / N | Flags | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PIONEER 4 | A1 | SEMA_PO_14MG_QD | 26 | arm, responders | 39 / 278 | R0015836:Table 2 | |||
| PIONEER 4 | A2 | LIRA_SC_1p8MG_QD | 26 | arm, responders | 16 / 271 | R0015836:Table 2 | |||
| PIONEER 4 | A3 | PLACEBO | 26 | arm, responders | 0 / 134 | R0015836:Table 2 | |||
| PIONEER 10 | A1 | SEMA_PO_3MG_QD | 26 | arm, responders | 0 / 128 | R0018421:Supplement Table S5 | |||
| PIONEER 10 | A2 | SEMA_PO_7MG_QD | 26 | arm, responders | 6 / 128 | R0018421:Supplement Table S5 | |||
| PIONEER 10 | A3 | SEMA_PO_14MG_QD | 26 | arm, responders | 8 / 128 | R0018421:Supplement Table S5 | |||
| PIONEER 10 | A4 | DULA_SC_0p75MG_QW | 26 | arm, responders | 1 / 64 | R0018421:Supplement Table S5 | |||
| PIONEER 12 | A1 | SEMA_PO_3MG_QD | 26 | arm, responders | 5 / 343 | R0019776:Table 2 | |||
| PIONEER 12 | A2 | SEMA_PO_7MG_QD | 26 | arm, responders | 24 / 342 | R0019776:Table 2 | |||
| PIONEER 12 | A3 | SEMA_PO_14MG_QD | 26 | arm, responders | 42 / 333 | R0019776:Table 2 | |||
| PIONEER 12 | A4 | SITAGLIPTIN | 26 | arm, responders | 2 / 351 | R0019776:Table 2 | |||
| PIONEER 3 | A1 | SEMA_PO_3MG_QD | 26 | arm, responders | 5 / 466 | registry:outcomes | |||
| PIONEER 3 | A2 | SEMA_PO_7MG_QD | 26 | arm, responders | 23 / 465 | registry:outcomes | |||
| PIONEER 3 | A3 | SEMA_PO_14MG_QD | 26 | arm, responders | 29 / 465 | registry:outcomes | |||
| PIONEER 3 | A4 | SITAGLIPTIN | 26 | arm, responders | 8 / 467 | registry:outcomes |
Rerun this analysis yourself
Remove treatments or trials and refit the frequentist and Bayesian models in your browser, with the same methods as the published analysis.