Weight loss of 5 percent or more
Type 2 diabetes (adults); background therapy: one or more non insulin glucose lowering drugs
In plain language
Across 5 trials with 3,426 participants, 4 of 10 treatments had a clearly better result than placebo on weight loss of 5 percent or more, and for 6 the evidence could not tell them apart from placebo. The most favorable estimate was for Semaglutide 2.0 mg subcutaneous once weekly: odds ratio 8.47 (95% credible interval 1.05 to 29.37).
Higher values favor the treatment. "Clearly" means the 95% credible interval excludes no difference. These are averages across trials; they do not say how any one person will respond. Not medical advice.
Network of trials
Effects compared with Placebo
| Treatment | Bayesian OR (95% CrI) | 95% prediction interval | Frequentist OR (95% CI) | Verdict |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Semaglutide 2.0 mg subcutaneous once weekly SEMA_SC_2p0MG_QW | 8.47 (1.05 to 29.37) | 0.80 to 36.30 | Better | |
| Semaglutide 1.0 mg subcutaneous once weekly SEMA_SC_1p0MG_QW | 6.41 (1.34 to 18.73) | 0.86 to 23.39 | Better | |
| Cotadutide 300 ug subcutaneous once daily COTA_SC_300UG_QD | 5.59 (1.51 to 14.81) | 1.05 to 20.68 | Better | |
| Canagliflozin CANAGLIFLOZIN | 5.01 (0.66 to 17.46) | 0.46 to 21.07 | Unclear | |
| Cotadutide 100 ug subcutaneous once daily COTA_SC_100UG_QD | 4.21 (1.18 to 11.53) | 0.73 to 16.56 | Better | |
| Semaglutide 0.5 mg subcutaneous once weekly SEMA_SC_0p5MG_QW | 2.91 (0.44 to 10.05) | 0.31 to 12.35 | Unclear | |
| Cotadutide 200 ug subcutaneous once daily COTA_SC_200UG_QD | 2.71 (0.74 to 7.28) | 0.51 to 10.32 | Unclear | |
| Liraglutide 1.8 mg subcutaneous once daily LIRA_SC_1p8MG_QD | 2.44 (0.71 to 5.97) | 0.44 to 8.32 | Unclear | |
| Dulaglutide 1.5 mg subcutaneous once weekly DULA_SC_1p5MG_QW | 1.62 (0.25 to 5.80) | 0.18 to 7.06 | Unclear | |
| Dulaglutide 0.75 mg subcutaneous once weekly DULA_SC_0p75MG_QW | 1.12 (0.18 to 3.94) | 0.13 to 4.78 | Unclear |
Ranking
League table
| Row versus column | PLACEBO | SEMA_SC_2p0MG_QW | SEMA_SC_1p0MG_QW | COTA_SC_300UG_QD | CANAGLIFLOZIN | COTA_SC_100UG_QD | SEMA_SC_0p5MG_QW | COTA_SC_200UG_QD | LIRA_SC_1p8MG_QD | DULA_SC_1p5MG_QW | DULA_SC_0p75MG_QW |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PLACEBO | PLACEBO | 0.12 0.03 to 0.95 | 0.16 0.05 to 0.75 | 0.18 0.07 to 0.66 | 0.20 0.06 to 1.51 | 0.24 0.09 to 0.85 | 0.34 0.10 to 2.29 | 0.37 0.14 to 1.35 | 0.41 0.17 to 1.41 | 0.62 0.17 to 4.01 | 0.90 0.25 to 5.67 |
| SEMA_SC_2p0MG_QW | 8.47 1.05 to 29.37 | SEMA_SC_2p0MG_QW | 1.32 0.43 to 3.34 | 1.55 0.20 to 5.96 | 1.71 0.42 to 6.68 | 2.04 0.28 to 7.92 | 2.93 0.67 to 10.61 | 3.18 0.44 to 12.09 | 3.52 0.67 to 10.74 | 5.30 1.13 to 19.23 | 7.72 1.56 to 29.26 |
| SEMA_SC_1p0MG_QW | 6.41 1.34 to 18.73 | 0.76 0.30 to 2.34 | SEMA_SC_1p0MG_QW | 1.17 0.25 to 3.80 | 1.31 0.52 to 3.79 | 1.54 0.32 to 4.96 | 2.23 0.82 to 5.94 | 2.42 0.47 to 7.73 | 2.65 0.86 to 6.25 | 4.00 1.49 to 10.67 | 5.84 2.05 to 15.49 |
| COTA_SC_300UG_QD | 5.59 1.51 to 14.81 | 0.65 0.17 to 4.88 | 0.85 0.26 to 3.98 | COTA_SC_300UG_QD | 1.11 0.28 to 7.56 | 1.32 0.43 to 4.10 | 1.88 0.47 to 11.84 | 2.06 0.67 to 6.00 | 2.27 0.84 to 7.15 | 3.39 0.85 to 20.74 | 4.95 1.20 to 28.73 |
| CANAGLIFLOZIN | 5.01 0.66 to 17.46 | 0.58 0.15 to 2.38 | 0.77 0.26 to 1.91 | 0.90 0.13 to 3.53 | CANAGLIFLOZIN | 1.19 0.16 to 4.72 | 1.70 0.40 to 6.40 | 1.86 0.24 to 7.36 | 2.05 0.39 to 6.44 | 3.07 0.69 to 11.03 | 4.50 0.97 to 15.92 |
| COTA_SC_100UG_QD | 4.21 1.18 to 11.53 | 0.49 0.13 to 3.51 | 0.65 0.20 to 3.17 | 0.76 0.24 to 2.32 | 0.84 0.21 to 6.06 | COTA_SC_100UG_QD | 1.43 0.36 to 9.70 | 1.56 0.48 to 4.66 | 1.72 0.61 to 5.67 | 2.58 0.64 to 17.01 | 3.77 0.90 to 22.98 |
| SEMA_SC_0p5MG_QW | 2.91 0.44 to 10.05 | 0.34 0.09 to 1.49 | 0.45 0.17 to 1.23 | 0.53 0.08 to 2.13 | 0.59 0.16 to 2.48 | 0.70 0.10 to 2.80 | SEMA_SC_0p5MG_QW | 1.09 0.17 to 4.26 | 1.20 0.27 to 3.91 | 1.81 0.62 to 4.99 | 2.63 0.89 to 6.83 |
| COTA_SC_200UG_QD | 2.71 0.74 to 7.28 | 0.31 0.08 to 2.25 | 0.41 0.13 to 2.14 | 0.49 0.17 to 1.48 | 0.54 0.14 to 4.23 | 0.64 0.21 to 2.07 | 0.92 0.23 to 5.84 | COTA_SC_200UG_QD | 1.09 0.41 to 3.48 | 1.66 0.42 to 10.52 | 2.42 0.58 to 14.72 |
| LIRA_SC_1p8MG_QD | 2.44 0.71 to 5.97 | 0.28 0.09 to 1.49 | 0.38 0.16 to 1.16 | 0.44 0.14 to 1.19 | 0.49 0.16 to 2.59 | 0.58 0.18 to 1.63 | 0.84 0.26 to 3.76 | 0.92 0.29 to 2.42 | LIRA_SC_1p8MG_QD | 1.52 0.46 to 6.92 | 2.20 0.64 to 9.13 |
| DULA_SC_1p5MG_QW | 1.62 0.25 to 5.80 | 0.19 0.05 to 0.89 | 0.25 0.09 to 0.67 | 0.29 0.05 to 1.18 | 0.33 0.09 to 1.46 | 0.39 0.06 to 1.57 | 0.55 0.20 to 1.62 | 0.60 0.10 to 2.36 | 0.66 0.14 to 2.15 | DULA_SC_1p5MG_QW | 1.46 0.50 to 4.12 |
| DULA_SC_0p75MG_QW | 1.12 0.18 to 3.94 | 0.13 0.03 to 0.64 | 0.17 0.06 to 0.49 | 0.20 0.03 to 0.83 | 0.22 0.06 to 1.03 | 0.27 0.04 to 1.11 | 0.38 0.15 to 1.12 | 0.41 0.07 to 1.73 | 0.45 0.11 to 1.56 | 0.69 0.24 to 1.99 | DULA_SC_0p75MG_QW |
Heterogeneity, fit and convergence
Bayesian random effects (primary)
Inconsistency
No comparison here has both direct and indirect evidence, so inconsistency cannot be checked by node splitting.
Small study effects
Fewer than ten trial comparisons, too few to judge funnel plot asymmetry.
Baseline characteristics of the trials
| Trial | Baseline BMI or body weight (kg/m2) effect modifier, prognostic factor; 3 of 5 | Sex (percent female) effect modifier, prognostic factor; 5 of 5 | Treatment duration (weeks) effect modifier; 5 of 5 | Lifestyle co-intervention intensity (none standard intensive) effect modifier, prognostic factor; 5 of 5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NCT03235050 S000257 | not reported | 53.72 | 54 | not_reported |
| SUSTAIN 7 S000372 | 33.5 | 55.12 | 40 | not_reported |
| SUSTAIN FORTE S001353 | 34.6 | 41.42 | 40 | not_reported |
| SUSTAIN 8 S001847 | not reported | 46.19 | 52 | not_reported |
| S003432 S003432 | 34.45 | 56.85 | 52 | not_reported |
Comparability of the trials
- FlagBaseline, Baseline BMI or body weight: not reported by 2 of 5 trials
- FlagBaseline, Sex: design means range from 41.4 (SEMA_SC_1p0MG_QW vs SEMA_SC_2p0MG_QW) to 56.8 (LIRA_SC_1p8MG_QD vs SEMA_SC_1p0MG_QW) percent female; threshold 15
- NoteOutcome assessment, time point: selected time points span 40 to 54 weeks
- NoteOutcome assessment, analysis set: mixed: full_analysis 3, other 1, per_protocol 1
- NoteOutcome assessment, proportion method: mixed: not stated 2, not_stated 3
- NoteRisk of bias, blinding: mixed: double_blind 3, open_label 2
- NoteRisk of bias, funding: mixed: industry 4, non_industry 1
- NoteData handling, input conversions: count_from_percent 8
| Trial | time weeks | analysis set | definition | instrument | adjudicated | proportion method | intercurrent events (discontinuation) | intercurrent events (rescue) | blinding | funding | start year | Eligibility |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NCT03235050 | 54 | per_protocol | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | double_blind | industry | 2017 | age 18 or older; BMI 25 or higher; HbA1c 7.0 to 10.5 percent; on metformin |
| SUSTAIN 7 | 40 | full_analysis | not stated | not stated | not stated | not_stated | not stated | not stated | open_label | industry | 2016 | age 18 or older; HbA1c 7.0 to 10.5 percent; eGFR 60 or higher; metformin background |
| SUSTAIN FORTE | 40 | full_analysis | not stated | not stated | not stated | not_stated | not stated | not stated | double_blind | industry | 2019 | T2D on metformin with or without SU; HbA1c 8.0 to 10.0 percent; duration at least 6 months |
| SUSTAIN 8 | 52 | full_analysis | not stated | not stated | not stated | not_stated | not stated | not stated | double_blind | industry | 2017 | age 18 or older; HbA1c 7.0 to 10.5 percent; eGFR 60 or higher; metformin 1500 mg or maximum tolerated |
| S003432 | 52 | other | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | open_label | non_industry | 2020 | age 18 to 65; type 2 diabetes 1 year or more; HbA1c 7.0 to 10.5 percent; BMI 30 or higher; stable metformin |
Trial data
| Trial | Arm | Treatment | Week | Data | Value | SE | Events / N | Flags | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NCT03235050 | A1 | PLACEBO | 54 | arm, responders | 9 / 91 | R0016374:Results | |||
| NCT03235050 | A2 | LIRA_SC_1p8MG_QD | 54 | arm, responders | 32 / 104 | R0016374:Results | |||
| NCT03235050 | A3 | COTA_SC_100UG_QD | 54 | arm, responders | 30 / 75 | R0016374:Results | |||
| NCT03235050 | A4 | COTA_SC_200UG_QD | 54 | arm, responders | 59 / 199 | R0016374:Results | |||
| NCT03235050 | A5 | COTA_SC_300UG_QD | 54 | arm, responders | 87 / 187 | R0016374:Results | |||
| SUSTAIN 7 | A1 | SEMA_SC_0p5MG_QW | 40 | arm, responders | 132 / 301 | count_from_percent | registry:outcomes | ||
| SUSTAIN 7 | A2 | SEMA_SC_1p0MG_QW | 40 | arm, responders | 189 / 300 | count_from_percent | registry:outcomes | ||
| SUSTAIN 7 | A3 | DULA_SC_0p75MG_QW | 40 | arm, responders | 68 / 299 | count_from_percent | registry:outcomes | ||
| SUSTAIN 7 | A4 | DULA_SC_1p5MG_QW | 40 | arm, responders | 90 / 298 | count_from_percent | registry:outcomes | ||
| SUSTAIN FORTE | A1 | SEMA_SC_1p0MG_QW | 40 | arm, responders | 247 / 481 | count_from_percent | registry:outcomes | ||
| SUSTAIN FORTE | A2 | SEMA_SC_2p0MG_QW | 40 | arm, responders | 284 / 480 | count_from_percent | registry:outcomes | ||
| SUSTAIN 8 | A1 | SEMA_SC_1p0MG_QW | 52 | arm, responders | 157 / 298 | count_from_percent | registry:outcomes | ||
| SUSTAIN 8 | A2 | CANAGLIFLOZIN | 52 | arm, responders | 147 / 313 | count_from_percent | registry:outcomes | ||
| S003432 | A1 | SEMA_SC_1p0MG_QW | 52 | contrast, or | 1.235 | 0.290 | R0053844:Table 1 | ||
| S003432 | A2 | LIRA_SC_1p8MG_QD | 52 | contrast, or | R0053844:Table 1 |
Rerun this analysis yourself
Remove treatments or trials and refit the frequentist and Bayesian models in your browser, with the same methods as the published analysis.