HbA1c below 7 percent
Type 2 diabetes (adults); background therapy: no glucose lowering drug (lifestyle only)
In plain language
Across 7 trials with 2,937 participants, 5 of 7 treatments had a clearly better result than placebo on HbA1c below 7 percent, and for 2 the evidence could not tell them apart from placebo. The most favorable estimate was for Dulaglutide injection: odds ratio 16.93 (95% credible interval 2.65 to 73.24).
Higher values favor the treatment. "Clearly" means the 95% credible interval excludes no difference. These are averages across trials; they do not say how any one person will respond. Not medical advice.
Network of trials
Effects compared with Placebo
| Treatment | Bayesian OR (95% CrI) | 95% prediction interval | Frequentist OR (95% CI) | Verdict |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dulaglutide injection DULA_SC | 16.93 (2.65 to 73.24) | 1.20 to 159 | 25.29 (4.12 to 155) | Better |
| Albiglutide injection ALBI_SC | 13.60 (2.30 to 59.72) | 1.02 to 126 | 20.11 (3.29 to 123) | Better |
| Liraglutide injection LIRA_SC | 12.76 (3.91 to 34.71) | 1.47 to 86.19 | 16.66 (5.15 to 53.96) | Better |
| Semaglutide tablet SEMA_PO | 8.29 (2.24 to 25.25) | 0.85 to 62.99 | 9.99 (2.73 to 36.57) | Better |
| Semaglutide injection SEMA_SC | 7.02 (1.03 to 33.33) | 0.51 to 68.69 | 8.30 (1.26 to 54.55) | Better |
| Visepegenatide injection VISEPE_SC | 5.32 (0.85 to 25.69) | 0.36 to 59.35 | 6.25 (0.92 to 42.28) | Unclear |
| Efpe sc EFPE_SC | 4.99 (0.83 to 24.53) | 0.37 to 51.54 | 5.79 (0.88 to 38.23) | Unclear |
Ranking
League table
| Row versus column | PLACEBO | DULA_SC | ALBI_SC | LIRA_SC | SEMA_PO | SEMA_SC | VISEPE_SC | EFPE_SC |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PLACEBO | PLACEBO | 0.06 0.01 to 0.38 | 0.07 0.02 to 0.43 | 0.08 0.03 to 0.26 | 0.12 0.04 to 0.45 | 0.14 0.03 to 0.97 | 0.19 0.04 to 1.18 | 0.20 0.04 to 1.21 |
| DULA_SC | 16.93 2.65 to 73.24 | DULA_SC | 1.25 0.15 to 10.46 | 1.32 0.23 to 6.13 | 2.05 0.25 to 12.49 | 2.44 0.24 to 23.20 | 3.16 0.27 to 33.96 | 3.36 0.31 to 34.57 |
| ALBI_SC | 13.60 2.30 to 59.72 | 0.80 0.10 to 6.49 | ALBI_SC | 1.06 0.20 to 4.79 | 1.63 0.22 to 10.50 | 1.94 0.20 to 19.63 | 2.52 0.23 to 24.82 | 2.72 0.25 to 26.70 |
| LIRA_SC | 12.76 3.91 to 34.71 | 0.76 0.16 to 4.44 | 0.94 0.21 to 5.03 | LIRA_SC | 1.54 0.38 to 5.75 | 1.84 0.27 to 14.32 | 2.38 0.32 to 19.79 | 2.56 0.38 to 19.39 |
| SEMA_PO | 8.29 2.24 to 25.25 | 0.49 0.08 to 4.03 | 0.61 0.10 to 4.53 | 0.65 0.17 to 2.61 | SEMA_PO | 1.19 0.17 to 10.06 | 1.56 0.20 to 13.19 | 1.66 0.23 to 12.90 |
| SEMA_SC | 7.02 1.03 to 33.33 | 0.41 0.04 to 4.23 | 0.52 0.05 to 4.95 | 0.54 0.07 to 3.65 | 0.84 0.10 to 5.89 | SEMA_SC | 1.30 0.11 to 14.17 | 1.41 0.13 to 15.35 |
| VISEPE_SC | 5.32 0.85 to 25.69 | 0.32 0.03 to 3.69 | 0.40 0.04 to 4.28 | 0.42 0.05 to 3.10 | 0.64 0.08 to 4.96 | 0.77 0.07 to 8.78 | VISEPE_SC | 1.07 0.10 to 11.89 |
| EFPE_SC | 4.99 0.83 to 24.53 | 0.30 0.03 to 3.25 | 0.37 0.04 to 3.99 | 0.39 0.05 to 2.61 | 0.60 0.08 to 4.36 | 0.71 0.07 to 7.74 | 0.93 0.08 to 10.08 | EFPE_SC |
Heterogeneity, fit and convergence
Bayesian random effects (primary)
Frequentist check (netmeta)
Inconsistency
No comparison here has both direct and indirect evidence, so inconsistency cannot be checked by node splitting; the between designs Q above is the global check.
Small study effects
Fewer than ten trial comparisons, too few to judge funnel plot asymmetry.
Baseline characteristics of the trials
| Trial | Baseline HbA1c (percent) effect modifier, prognostic factor; 6 of 7 | Background glucose lowering therapy (stratum S0 to S4) effect modifier, prognostic factor; 7 of 7 | Diabetes duration (years) effect modifier, prognostic factor; 6 of 7 |
|---|---|---|---|
| PIONEER 9 S001943 | 8.2 | S0 | 7.6 |
| PB119 S000217 | 8.5 | S0 | 2.18 |
| NCT01558271 S000837 | 8.14 | S0 | 6.59 |
| SUSTAIN™1 S000878 | 8.05 | S0 | 4.2 |
| NCT01733758 S001075 | 8.11 | S0 | 6.65 |
| PIONEER 1 S001741 | not reported | S0 | not reported |
| AMPLITUDE-M S002081 | 8.07 | S0 | 5.1 |
Comparability of the trials
- FlagBaseline, Diabetes duration: design means range from 2.2 (PLACEBO vs VISEPE_SC) to 7.6 (LIRA_SC vs PLACEBO vs SEMA_PO) years; threshold 3
- NoteOutcome assessment, time point: selected time points span 24 to 30 weeks
- NoteOutcome assessment, analysis set: mixed: full_analysis 5, modified_itt 1, randomized 1
- NoteOutcome assessment, definition: mixed: HbA1c below 7.0 percent 1, not stated 6
- NoteOutcome assessment, proportion method: mixed: not stated 4, not_stated 3
- NoteData handling, input conversions: arms_combined 5, count_from_percent 6
| Trial | intercurrent events (rescue) | time weeks | analysis set | definition | instrument | adjudicated | proportion method | intercurrent events (discontinuation) | blinding | funding | start year | Eligibility |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PIONEER 9 | not stated | 26 | full_analysis | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | double_blind | industry | 2017 | Japanese adults 20 y or older; HbA1c 6.5 to 9.5 on one oral drug washed out, or 7.0 to 10.0 on diet and exercise |
| PB119 | not stated | 24 | full_analysis | not stated | not stated | not stated | not_stated | not stated | double_blind | industry | 2020 | age 18 to 75; HbA1c 7.5 to 11.0 at screening and 7.0 to 10.5 at randomization; BMI 18.5 to 40; eGFR 60 or more; drug naive |
| NCT01558271 | not stated | 26 | full_analysis | HbA1c below 7.0 percent | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | double_blind | industry | 2012 | Japanese; age 20 or more; BMI 18.5 to 35; HbA1c 7.0 to 10.0 percent; OAM naive or OAM stopped |
| SUSTAIN™1 | not stated | 30 | full_analysis | not stated | not stated | not stated | not_stated | not stated | double_blind | industry | 2014 | age 18 or older (20 in Japan); HbA1c 7.0 to 10.0 percent; drug naive on diet and exercise; eGFR 30 or more |
| NCT01733758 | not stated | 24 | modified_itt | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | double_blind | industry | 2013 | Japanese adults; diet and exercise with or without one oral drug; HbA1c 7 to 10 percent after washout |
| PIONEER 1 | not stated | 26 | full_analysis | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | double_blind | industry | 2016 | adults with type 2 diabetes on diet and exercise only; HbA1c 7.0 to 9.5 percent |
| AMPLITUDE-M | not stated | 30 | randomized | not stated | not stated | not stated | not_stated | not stated | double_blind | industry | 2017 | type 2 diabetes on diet and exercise, HbA1c 7 to 10 percent, no glucose lowering drug in prior 3 months |
Trial data
| Trial | Arm | Treatment | Week | Data | Value | SE | Events / N | Flags | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PB119 | A1 | VISEPE_SC | 24 | arm, responders | 69 / 137 | count_from_percent | R0011471:Table 2 | ||
| PB119 | A2 | PLACEBO | 24 | arm, responders | 19 / 136 | count_from_percent | R0011471:Table 2 | ||
| NCT01558271 | A1 | DULA_SC | 26 | arm, responders | 200 / 280 | R0011901:Results | |||
| NCT01558271 | A2 | LIRA_SC | 26 | arm, responders | 94 / 136 | R0011901:Results | |||
| NCT01558271 | A3 | PLACEBO | 26 | arm, responders | 4 / 68 | R0011901:Results | |||
| SUSTAIN™1 | A1+A2 | SEMA_SC | 30 | arm, responders | 189 / 258 | count_from_percent;arms_combined | registry:outcomes | ||
| SUSTAIN™1 | A3 | PLACEBO | 30 | arm, responders | 32 / 129 | count_from_percent | registry:outcomes | ||
| NCT01733758 | A1 | PLACEBO | 24 | arm, responders | 4 / 77 | registry:outcomes | |||
| NCT01733758 | A2+A3 | ALBI_SC | 24 | arm, responders | 192 / 309 | arms_combined | registry:outcomes | ||
| NCT01733758 | A4 | LIRA_SC | 24 | arm, responders | 66 / 103 | registry:outcomes | |||
| PIONEER 1 | A1+A2+A3 | SEMA_PO | 26 | arm, responders | 325 / 487 | arms_combined | registry:outcomes | ||
| PIONEER 1 | A4 | PLACEBO | 26 | arm, responders | 52 / 168 | registry:outcomes | |||
| PIONEER 9 | A1+A2+A3 | SEMA_PO | 26 | arm, responders | 92 / 146 | arms_combined | registry:outcomes | ||
| PIONEER 9 | A4 | LIRA_SC | 26 | arm, responders | 24 / 48 | registry:outcomes | |||
| PIONEER 9 | A5 | PLACEBO | 26 | arm, responders | 6 / 49 | registry:outcomes | |||
| AMPLITUDE-M | A1+A2+A3 | EFPE_SC | 30 | arm, responders | 202 / 304 | count_from_percent;arms_combined | R0007136:Results | ||
| AMPLITUDE-M | A4 | PLACEBO | 30 | arm, responders | 26 / 102 | count_from_percent | R0007136:Results |
Rerun this analysis yourself
Remove treatments or trials and refit the frequentist and Bayesian models in your browser, with the same methods as the published analysis.