parallel randomized trial
LAMP
Liraglutide in Acute Minor Ischemic Stroke or High-risk Transient Ischemic Attack Patients With Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus: A Prospective, Multicenter, Randomized, Blank-controlled,Blinded End-point Study.
Design
Conduct and analysis
Arms
| Arm | Treatment | Background | Randomized | Analyzed | Completed treatment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| A1 | Standard care or no added treatment Standard therapy | guideline stroke secondary prevention and glucose management; DPP-4 and SGLT2 inhibitors prohibited; lifestyle: not reported | 319 | 319 | |
| A2 | Liraglutide 1.8 mg subcutaneous once daily Liraglutide 1.8 mg plus standard therapy | guideline stroke secondary prevention and glucose management; DPP-4 and SGLT2 inhibitors prohibited; lifestyle: not reported | 317 | 317 |
Baseline characteristics
As printed in the trial reports or registry, per arm or for the whole trial.
| Characteristic | Statistic | Standard care or no added treatment A1 | Liraglutide 1.8 mg subcutaneous once daily A2 |
|---|---|---|---|
| age | median (years) | 64.0 | 63.0 |
| age | q1 (years) | 59.0 | 57.0 |
| age | q3 (years) | 70.0 | 70.0 |
| bmi | median (kg/m2) | 23.7 | 24.2 |
| bmi | q1 (kg/m2) | 22.0 | 22.5 |
| bmi | q3 (kg/m2) | 26.0 | 26.0 |
| established cvd: coronary heart disease | n | 27 | 30 |
| established cvd: coronary heart disease | percent | 8.5 | 9.5 |
| established cvd: previous ischemic stroke | n | 91 | 80 |
| established cvd: previous ischemic stroke | percent | 28.5 | 25.2 |
| established cvd: previous tia | n | 10 | 10 |
| established cvd: previous tia | percent | 3.1 | 3.2 |
| female | n | 115 | 116 |
| female | percent | 36.1 | 36.6 |
| hba1c | median (percent) | 8.2 | 8.1 |
| hba1c | q1 (percent) | 6.8 | 7.0 |
| hba1c | q3 (percent) | 10.0 | 9.8 |
| sbp | median (mmHg) | 154.0 | 152.0 |
| sbp | q1 (mmHg) | 140.0 | 139.0 |
| sbp | q3 (mmHg) | 166.0 | 167.0 |
Results
16 adjudicated result lines, grouped by outcome. Open an outcome to see its values.
Level 2 or 3 hypoglycemia (participants) (6 lines; O04)
| Week | Arm | Statistic | Estimate | SE or SD | 95% CI | Events / N | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| A1 | events | 24 / 293 | not stated; per protocol; R0005689:Supplement eTable 5 | ||||
| A1 | events | 25 / 319 | treatment policy; randomized; R0005689:Table 2 | ||||
| A2 | events | 24 / 317 | treatment policy; randomized; R0005689:Table 2 | ||||
| A2 vs A1 | hr | 0.93 | 0.53 to 1.62 | treatment policy; randomized; R0005689:Table 2 | |||
| A2 | events | 17 / 255 | not stated; per protocol; R0005689:Supplement eTable 5 | ||||
| A2 vs A1 | hr | 0.77 | 0.42 to 1.44 | not stated; per protocol; R0005689:Supplement eTable 5 |
All cause mortality (6 lines; O20)
| Week | Arm | Statistic | Estimate | SE or SD | 95% CI | Events / N | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| A1 | events | 3 / 293 | not stated; per protocol; R0005689:Supplement eTable 5 | ||||
| A1 | events | 4 / 319 | treatment policy; randomized; R0005689:Table 2 | ||||
| A2 vs A1 | hr | 0.36 | 0.04 to 3.43 | not stated; per protocol; R0005689:Supplement eTable 5 | |||
| A2 | events | 1 / 255 | not stated; per protocol; R0005689:Supplement eTable 5 | ||||
| A2 | events | 1 / 317 | treatment policy; randomized; R0005689:Table 2 | ||||
| A2 vs A1 | hr | 0.24 | 0.03 to 2.10 | treatment policy; randomized; R0005689:Table 2 |
Acute pancreatitis (4 lines; O29)
| Week | Arm | Statistic | Estimate | SE or SD | 95% CI | Events / N | Detail |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| A1 | events | 0 / 293 | not stated; per protocol; R0005689:Supplement eTable 5 | ||||
| A1 | events | 0 / 319 | treatment policy; randomized; R0005689:Table 2 | ||||
| A2 | events | 0 / 255 | not stated; per protocol; R0005689:Supplement eTable 5 | ||||
| A2 | events | 0 / 317 | treatment policy; randomized; R0005689:Table 2 |