Percent body weight change
Type 2 diabetes (adults); background therapy: basal insulin with or without non insulin drugs
In plain language
Across 2 trials with 546 participants, 0 of 4 treatments had a clearly better result than placebo on percent body weight change, and for 4 the evidence could not tell them apart from placebo. The most favorable estimate was for Orforglipron 36 mg oral once daily: mean difference -6.58 percentage points (95% credible interval -12.90 to 0.86).
Lower values favor the treatment. "Clearly" means the 95% credible interval excludes no difference. These are averages across trials; they do not say how any one person will respond. Not medical advice.
Network of trials
Effects compared with Placebo
| Treatment | Bayesian MD (95% CrI) | 95% prediction interval | Frequentist MD (95% CI) | Verdict |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Orforglipron 36 mg oral once daily ORFO_PO_36MG_QD | -6.58 (-12.90 to 0.86) | -15.96 to 3.99 | -6.70 (-8.29 to -5.11) | Unclear |
| Orforglipron 12 mg oral once daily ORFO_PO_12MG_QD | -6.28 (-12.60 to 0.94) | -15.65 to 4.34 | -6.40 (-7.83 to -4.97) | Unclear |
| Liraglutide 3.0 mg subcutaneous once daily LIRA_SC_3p0MG_QD | -5.02 (-11.56 to 2.22) | -14.16 to 5.57 | -5.10 (-6.30 to -3.90) | Unclear |
| Orforglipron 3 mg oral once daily ORFO_PO_3MG_QD | -3.17 (-9.70 to 3.84) | -12.57 to 7.30 | -3.30 (-4.64 to -1.96) | Unclear |
Ranking
League table
| Row versus column | PLACEBO | ORFO_PO_36MG_QD | ORFO_PO_12MG_QD | LIRA_SC_3p0MG_QD | ORFO_PO_3MG_QD |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PLACEBO | PLACEBO | 6.58 -0.86 to 12.90 | 6.28 -0.94 to 12.60 | 5.02 -2.22 to 11.56 | 3.17 -3.84 to 9.70 |
| ORFO_PO_36MG_QD | -6.58 -12.90 to 0.86 | ORFO_PO_36MG_QD | -0.29 -7.29 to 7.03 | -1.58 -11.13 to 8.67 | -3.40 -10.11 to 3.68 |
| ORFO_PO_12MG_QD | -6.28 -12.60 to 0.94 | 0.29 -7.03 to 7.29 | ORFO_PO_12MG_QD | -1.25 -10.64 to 8.96 | -3.09 -10.03 to 4.20 |
| LIRA_SC_3p0MG_QD | -5.02 -11.56 to 2.22 | 1.58 -8.67 to 11.13 | 1.25 -8.96 to 10.64 | LIRA_SC_3p0MG_QD | -1.82 -11.58 to 7.85 |
| ORFO_PO_3MG_QD | -3.17 -9.70 to 3.84 | 3.40 -3.68 to 10.11 | 3.09 -4.20 to 10.03 | 1.82 -7.85 to 11.58 | ORFO_PO_3MG_QD |
Heterogeneity, fit and convergence
Bayesian random effects (primary)
Frequentist check (netmeta)
Inconsistency
No comparison here has both direct and indirect evidence, so inconsistency cannot be checked by node splitting; the between designs Q above is the global check.
Small study effects
Fewer than ten trial comparisons, too few to judge funnel plot asymmetry.
Baseline characteristics of the trials
| Trial | Baseline BMI or body weight (kg/m2) effect modifier, prognostic factor; 2 of 2 | Sex (percent female) effect modifier, prognostic factor; 2 of 2 | Asian ancestry or region (percent Asian) effect modifier, prognostic factor; 2 of 2 | Kidney function (eGFR) (mL/min/1.73 m2) prognostic factor, effect modifier; 1 of 2 | Treatment duration (weeks) effect modifier; 2 of 2 | Lifestyle co-intervention intensity (none standard intensive) effect modifier, prognostic factor; 2 of 2 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SCALE™ Insulin S000159 | 35.6 | 52.27 | 2 | not reported | 56 | intensive |
| ACHIEVE-5 S001044 | 30.8 | 47.07 | 25.64 | 78.8 | 40 | not_reported |
Comparability of the trials
- FlagBaseline, Baseline BMI or body weight: design means range from 30.8 (ORFO_PO_12MG_QD vs ORFO_PO_36MG_QD vs ORFO_PO_3MG_QD vs PLACEBO) to 35.6 (LIRA_SC_3p0MG_QD vs PLACEBO) kg/m2; threshold 3
- FlagBaseline, Kidney function (eGFR): not reported by 1 of 2 trials
- FlagBaseline, Lifestyle co-intervention intensity: each design has a different category: LIRA_SC_3p0MG_QD vs PLACEBO = intensive; ORFO_PO_12MG_QD vs ORFO_PO_36MG_QD vs ORFO_PO_3MG_QD vs PLACEBO = not_reported
- FlagOutcome assessment, analysis set: confounded with design: full_analysis 1, randomized 1
- FlagOutcome assessment, intercurrent events (rescue): confounded with design: hypothetical 1, not stated 1
- NoteOutcome assessment, time point: selected time points span 40 to 56 weeks
| Trial | time weeks | analysis set | definition | instrument | adjudicated | proportion method | intercurrent events (discontinuation) | intercurrent events (rescue) | blinding | funding | start year | Eligibility |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SCALE™ Insulin | 56 | full_analysis | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | hypothetical | not stated | double_blind | industry | 2017 | age 18 or older; BMI 27 or higher; HbA1c 6.0 to 10 percent; basal insulin plus up to 2 oral drugs |
| ACHIEVE-5 | 40 | randomized | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | hypothetical | hypothetical | double_blind | industry | 2023 | adults with T2D on insulin glargine with or without metformin or SGLT2 inhibitor |
Trial data
| Trial | Arm | Treatment | Week | Data | Value | SE | Events / N | Flags | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SCALE™ Insulin | A1 | LIRA_SC_3p0MG_QD | 56 | contrast, md | -5.100 | 0.612 | R0024063:Results | ||
| SCALE™ Insulin | A2 | PLACEBO | 56 | contrast, md | R0024063:Results | ||||
| ACHIEVE-5 | A1 | PLACEBO | 40 | arm, percent_change | 0.600 | 0.440 | 141 | registry:outcomes | |
| ACHIEVE-5 | A2 | ORFO_PO_3MG_QD | 40 | arm, percent_change | -2.700 | 0.520 | 137 | registry:outcomes | |
| ACHIEVE-5 | A3 | ORFO_PO_12MG_QD | 40 | arm, percent_change | -5.800 | 0.580 | 132 | registry:outcomes | |
| ACHIEVE-5 | A4 | ORFO_PO_36MG_QD | 40 | arm, percent_change | -6.100 | 0.680 | 136 | registry:outcomes |
Rerun this analysis yourself
Remove treatments or trials and refit the frequentist and Bayesian models in your browser, with the same methods as the published analysis.