HbA1c below 7 percent
Type 2 diabetes (adults); background therapy: no glucose lowering drug (lifestyle only)
In plain language
Across 2 trials with 742 participants, 3 of 5 treatments had a clearly better result than placebo on HbA1c below 7 percent, and for 2 the evidence could not tell them apart from placebo. The most favorable estimate was for Orforglipron 12 mg oral once daily: odds ratio 6.39 (95% credible interval 1.22 to 18.35).
Higher values favor the treatment. "Clearly" means the 95% credible interval excludes no difference. These are averages across trials; they do not say how any one person will respond. Not medical advice.
Network of trials
Effects compared with Placebo
| Treatment | Bayesian OR (95% CrI) | 95% prediction interval | Frequentist OR (95% CI) | Verdict |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Orforglipron 12 mg oral once daily ORFO_PO_12MG_QD | 6.39 (1.22 to 18.35) | 0.77 to 29.90 | 7.34 (3.92 to 13.76) | Better |
| Orforglipron 36 mg oral once daily ORFO_PO_36MG_QD | 5.50 (1.13 to 15.39) | 0.68 to 24.01 | 6.37 (3.48 to 11.65) | Better |
| Orforglipron 3 mg oral once daily ORFO_PO_3MG_QD | 5.33 (1.14 to 15.58) | 0.69 to 25.32 | 6.06 (3.33 to 11.03) | Better |
| Albiglutide 30 mg subcutaneous once weekly ALBI_SC_30MG_QW | 3.25 (0.83 to 10.41) | 0.49 to 17.66 | 3.52 (1.89 to 6.56) | Unclear |
| Albiglutide 50 mg subcutaneous once weekly ALBI_SC_50MG_QW | 2.31 (0.57 to 7.42) | 0.34 to 11.26 | 2.47 (1.31 to 4.63) | Unclear |
Ranking
League table
| Row versus column | PLACEBO | ORFO_PO_12MG_QD | ORFO_PO_36MG_QD | ORFO_PO_3MG_QD | ALBI_SC_30MG_QW | ALBI_SC_50MG_QW |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PLACEBO | PLACEBO | 0.16 0.05 to 0.82 | 0.18 0.06 to 0.88 | 0.19 0.06 to 0.88 | 0.31 0.10 to 1.20 | 0.43 0.13 to 1.75 |
| ORFO_PO_12MG_QD | 6.39 1.22 to 18.35 | ORFO_PO_12MG_QD | 1.15 0.31 to 4.49 | 1.21 0.31 to 4.44 | 1.95 0.28 to 9.44 | 2.76 0.38 to 13.89 |
| ORFO_PO_36MG_QD | 5.50 1.13 to 15.39 | 0.87 0.22 to 3.26 | ORFO_PO_36MG_QD | 1.05 0.26 to 3.60 | 1.68 0.25 to 8.21 | 2.40 0.34 to 11.98 |
| ORFO_PO_3MG_QD | 5.33 1.14 to 15.58 | 0.83 0.23 to 3.24 | 0.96 0.28 to 3.90 | ORFO_PO_3MG_QD | 1.62 0.24 to 8.56 | 2.31 0.31 to 12.33 |
| ALBI_SC_30MG_QW | 3.25 0.83 to 10.41 | 0.51 0.11 to 3.58 | 0.59 0.12 to 4.08 | 0.62 0.12 to 4.10 | ALBI_SC_30MG_QW | 1.42 0.40 to 5.05 |
| ALBI_SC_50MG_QW | 2.31 0.57 to 7.42 | 0.36 0.07 to 2.63 | 0.42 0.08 to 2.92 | 0.43 0.08 to 3.22 | 0.71 0.20 to 2.50 | ALBI_SC_50MG_QW |
Heterogeneity, fit and convergence
Bayesian random effects (primary)
Frequentist check (netmeta)
Inconsistency
No comparison here has both direct and indirect evidence, so inconsistency cannot be checked by node splitting; the between designs Q above is the global check.
Small study effects
Fewer than ten trial comparisons, too few to judge funnel plot asymmetry.
Baseline characteristics of the trials
| Trial | Baseline HbA1c (percent) effect modifier, prognostic factor; 2 of 2 | Background glucose lowering therapy (stratum S0 to S4) effect modifier, prognostic factor; 2 of 2 | Diabetes duration (years) effect modifier, prognostic factor; 2 of 2 |
|---|---|---|---|
| NCT00849017 S000852 | 8.07 | S0 | 3.97 |
| ACHIEVE-1 S001950 | 7.98 | S0 | 4.4 |
Comparability of the trials
- FlagOutcome assessment, proportion method: confounded with design: not stated 1, not_stated 1
- NoteOutcome assessment, time point: selected time points span 40 to 52 weeks
- NoteData handling, input conversions: count_from_percent 4
| Trial | time weeks | analysis set | definition | instrument | adjudicated | proportion method | intercurrent events (discontinuation) | intercurrent events (rescue) | blinding | funding | start year | Eligibility |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NCT00849017 | 52 | modified_itt | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | hypothetical | hypothetical | double_blind | industry | 2009 | age 18 or older; HbA1c 7.0 to 10.0 percent; BMI 20 to 45; diet and exercise only |
| ACHIEVE-1 | 40 | modified_itt | not stated | not stated | not stated | not_stated | hypothetical | hypothetical | double_blind | industry | 2023 | adults with type 2 diabetes on diet and exercise alone; HbA1c 7.0 to 9.5 percent |
Trial data
| Trial | Arm | Treatment | Week | Data | Value | SE | Events / N | Flags | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NCT00849017 | A1 | PLACEBO | 52 | arm, responders | 21 / 98 | registry:outcomes | |||
| NCT00849017 | A2 | ALBI_SC_30MG_QW | 52 | arm, responders | 49 / 100 | registry:outcomes | |||
| NCT00849017 | A3 | ALBI_SC_50MG_QW | 52 | arm, responders | 39 / 97 | registry:outcomes | |||
| ACHIEVE-1 | A1 | PLACEBO | 40 | arm, responders | 36 / 97 | count_from_percent | registry:outcomes | ||
| ACHIEVE-1 | A2 | ORFO_PO_3MG_QD | 40 | arm, responders | 93 / 119 | count_from_percent | registry:outcomes | ||
| ACHIEVE-1 | A3 | ORFO_PO_12MG_QD | 40 | arm, responders | 91 / 112 | count_from_percent | registry:outcomes | ||
| ACHIEVE-1 | A4 | ORFO_PO_36MG_QD | 40 | arm, responders | 94 / 119 | count_from_percent | registry:outcomes |
Rerun this analysis yourself
Remove treatments or trials and refit the frequentist and Bayesian models in your browser, with the same methods as the published analysis.