HbA1c below 7 percent
Type 2 diabetes (adults); background therapy: no glucose lowering drug (lifestyle only)
In plain language
Across 2 trials with 742 participants, 1 of 2 treatments had a clearly better result than placebo on HbA1c below 7 percent, and for 1 the evidence could not tell it apart from placebo. The most favorable estimate was for Orforglipron tablet: odds ratio 6.06 (95% credible interval 1.15 to 19.50).
Higher values favor the treatment. "Clearly" means the 95% credible interval excludes no difference. These are averages across trials; they do not say how any one person will respond. Not medical advice.
Network of trials
Effects compared with Placebo
| Treatment | Bayesian OR (95% CrI) | 95% prediction interval | Frequentist OR (95% CI) | Verdict |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Orforglipron tablet ORFO_PO | 6.06 (1.15 to 19.50) | 0.59 to 37.43 | 6.54 (4.02 to 10.64) | Better |
| Albiglutide injection ALBI_SC | 2.80 (0.62 to 9.48) | 0.36 to 18.29 | 2.96 (1.69 to 5.17) | Unclear |
Ranking
League table
| Row versus column | PLACEBO | ORFO_PO | ALBI_SC |
|---|---|---|---|
| PLACEBO | PLACEBO | 0.16 0.05 to 0.87 | 0.36 0.11 to 1.62 |
| ORFO_PO | 6.06 1.15 to 19.50 | ORFO_PO | 2.13 0.28 to 12.99 |
| ALBI_SC | 2.80 0.62 to 9.48 | 0.47 0.08 to 3.58 | ALBI_SC |
Heterogeneity, fit and convergence
Bayesian random effects (primary)
Frequentist check (netmeta)
Inconsistency
No comparison here has both direct and indirect evidence, so inconsistency cannot be checked by node splitting; the between designs Q above is the global check.
Small study effects
Fewer than ten trial comparisons, too few to judge funnel plot asymmetry.
Baseline characteristics of the trials
| Trial | Baseline HbA1c (percent) effect modifier, prognostic factor; 2 of 2 | Background glucose lowering therapy (stratum S0 to S4) effect modifier, prognostic factor; 2 of 2 | Diabetes duration (years) effect modifier, prognostic factor; 2 of 2 |
|---|---|---|---|
| NCT00849017 S000852 | 8.07 | S0 | 3.97 |
| ACHIEVE-1 S001950 | 7.98 | S0 | 4.4 |
Comparability of the trials
- FlagOutcome assessment, proportion method: confounded with design: not stated 1, not_stated 1
- NoteOutcome assessment, time point: selected time points span 40 to 52 weeks
- NoteData handling, input conversions: arms_combined 2, count_from_percent 2
| Trial | time weeks | analysis set | definition | instrument | adjudicated | proportion method | intercurrent events (discontinuation) | intercurrent events (rescue) | blinding | funding | start year | Eligibility |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NCT00849017 | 52 | modified_itt | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | hypothetical | hypothetical | double_blind | industry | 2009 | age 18 or older; HbA1c 7.0 to 10.0 percent; BMI 20 to 45; diet and exercise only |
| ACHIEVE-1 | 40 | modified_itt | not stated | not stated | not stated | not_stated | hypothetical | hypothetical | double_blind | industry | 2023 | adults with type 2 diabetes on diet and exercise alone; HbA1c 7.0 to 9.5 percent |
Trial data
| Trial | Arm | Treatment | Week | Data | Value | SE | Events / N | Flags | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NCT00849017 | A1 | PLACEBO | 52 | arm, responders | 21 / 98 | registry:outcomes | |||
| NCT00849017 | A2+A3 | ALBI_SC | 52 | arm, responders | 88 / 197 | arms_combined | registry:outcomes | ||
| ACHIEVE-1 | A1 | PLACEBO | 40 | arm, responders | 36 / 97 | count_from_percent | registry:outcomes | ||
| ACHIEVE-1 | A2+A3+A4 | ORFO_PO | 40 | arm, responders | 278 / 350 | count_from_percent;arms_combined | registry:outcomes |
Rerun this analysis yourself
Remove treatments or trials and refit the frequentist and Bayesian models in your browser, with the same methods as the published analysis.